Blogiversary Q&A Answers Part 2 | More Bookish Questions

part2blogv.png

Now for Part 2 of the bookish questions I received for my Q&A! This one had some really tough questions but I had a lot of fun answering them. Be sure to check out Part 1 and be on the lookout for Part 3 where I’ll answer all of the blog related and random questions I received. 😁

Thanks so much again for the questions guys! Be sure to check out all of their blogs. πŸ’•


Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books:

  • What’s the first YA book you remember reading?

I can’t remember theΒ exactΒ first YA book I read because that was so long ago but I do know that one of the first YA books I ever read wasΒ Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz. That book series was to my middle school self what The Bone Season is to me now, I loved it so much.

872333


Stephanie @ TeacherofYA:

  • What is your fave genre?

Fantasy! Books with new worlds, magic, folklore, and just all of that are always my favorites.

  • Do you have a book that you could reread over and over… like on a desert island? or a series? (I won’t be cruel like that!)

17199504Β 17901125Β 31451267

I’m betting no one is surprised by this choice by now πŸ˜‚. But, seriously, I could reread The Bone Season forever and never get tired of it. Every single time I reread the books that have been released so far I find something else I love about them.

  • Is there a prized book in your collection, or bookish item that means so much to you?

I could easily pick my signed copy of The Song Rising for this but I won’t because I’m becoming repetitive with The Bone Season lol. I have a nearly complete collection of Charles Dickens’ works. They’re leatherbound editions from the 1970’s and even though I’ve yet to read any of them I’m quite fond of the collection. My dad found them in a house he was working on once and the company who owned the house let him have them and he gave them to me. 😊


Tiana @ The Book Raven:

  • Has your reading tastes changed at all over the course of this year?

I wouldn’t say my reading tastes have changed but more that I’ve gotten pickier. If that makes sense? I’m still a huge fantasy reader and prefer that genre to anything else but I do know that with each great fantasy book I’ve read in the last year it’s taken more for the next great one to top it.

giphy (1)


Hannah @ Mortal Reader:

  • If you were stuck on a desert island what book would you take?

The Bone SeasonΒ if I can take a book series. You guys are probably tired of me talking about TBS πŸ™ˆ. If I can’t then I’d have to go withΒ The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy NelsonΒ simply for the fact that that is another book I never get tired of rereading.

6604794

  • What is the book series that made you fall in love with reading?

111332

The Warriors seriesΒ by Erin Hunter, it was the first book series I read where I got completely invested in the characters and the story and it made me realize just how much I loved reading.


Loonyloonyvish:

  • Who is your favorite Hogwarts professor?

I’m going to have to go with McGonagall, she was always my favorite.

YNQeQ.gif

  • Would you rather give up reading or give away your computer/phone? (this means you can’t blog)

Give away my computer/phone. Sorry guys but I could never give up reading. πŸ™ˆ


Azia @ The Uncharted Word:

  • What is your definition of a strong female protagonist? A strong male protagonist?Β 

This is aΒ reallyΒ tough question because I don’t have a straightforward definition for what I consider a ‘strong’ female or male protagonist. In fact, I don’t think I have one at all simply because it would put that idea of strength into a box and I don’t think it can fit into one. It’s very subjective to the book and the situations that arise in a book. I feel that there are so many different shades of what one could consider a strong female or male protagonist, so many different forms strength can take. And it’s something that isn’t easily if at all defined. At least not for me.

  • If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, which book would it be?Β 

This question is evil because I read more series than standalones!Β And because I want to pick The Bone Season. πŸ˜‚Β However, if I could only read one book for the rest of my life it would beΒ I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios. I love that book so much and it’s another that I never get tired of rereading.

21469068

  • Hogwarts or The Night Court?

The Night Court! *hides from all of the gasps that happen as she picks the Night Court over Hogwarts* I’d say blame it on Rhys but really I just want to visit Velaris. πŸ™ˆ

  • Which book is your favorite feel-good book and why?

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West!Β That book is so cute and it has one of my favorite tropes (which I won’t say because then it would give away the story). The first time I read it I literally abandoned work and blogging for the day because I didn’t want to do anything but read. It always makes me laugh so much and smile and fangirl. Seriously, if anyone is looking for a cute and light read you should read it!

25486998

  • Will and Tessa OR Feyre and Rhys? And Why?

WHAT!? Why would you ask me that, Azia!? I can’t pick! Both of them are two of my top OTPs.Β I shipped Will and Tessa more than Jem and Tessa while reading TID. I love them both too much to pick. I just can’t. *runs away* You can’t make me pick! 😭

christina-aguilera-the-voice-gif.gif

  • Which is your favorite book to movie adaptation?

457587b7bb6a321a3d660096d07b61af.jpg

Catching FireΒ was pretty much a flawless book to movie adaptation. I remember being so worried about the casting of Finnick and other things and then I saw the movie.Β It was perfect.Β 


Asia @ Lost Art of Reading:

  • One book you think everyone should read?

I’m not entirely sure because most of the books I can think of off the top of my head are ones that not everyone enjoys. However, if I could recommend one book to everyone that I know most if not all people have loved then it would be Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

23437156


Analee @ Book Snacks:

  • What book not yet released are you looking forward to reading?

25695640Β 28458598Β 31451174.jpgΒ 30312891

  • Paperback VS Hardcover? (old, but classic haha)

I don’t really prefer one over the other but it depends – if it’s a series that I own all hardcovers for then I’ll have to have the hardcover for the next book and then the same goes for paperback. Then when it comes to standalones I’m not preferential to either. My shelves are a big mixture of paperbacks and hardcovers and I’m good with that. *shrugs* 😊

  • Worst book to movie adaptation?

I’m not sure if I have one for this. IΒ tryΒ to separate the book from the movie when it comes to most adaptations and that usually stops me from being disappointed. And while there have still been times where I’m upset because of changes or things left out there hasn’t been a time where I’ve walked away from an adaptation thinking it was the worst.

  • Would you rather be an Antari or Grisha? Why?

I don’t even have to think about this because I would be anΒ Antari. One, I could travel to parallel worlds. Two, Kell can control all of the elements – that is awesome and I want to be able to do that. Three, hopefully I would get a coat like Kell’s. But, you know, mostly I just want to be able to travel to other worlds.

16126907


regsig

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

38 thoughts on “Blogiversary Q&A Answers Part 2 | More Bookish Questions

  1. So I just had I’ll Meet You There and I traded it for Midnight Jewel ARC. I’m just not a contemporary reader, but I picked it up knowing it sounded cool for someone who liked contemporary.
    Love your answers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your answers! Thank you for answering my questions. I haven’t read the two you mentioned for mine so I definitely need to check them out and find out more about them πŸ™‚ I also love your love for The Bone Season and when you say ‘you’re probably sick of me talking about this now’ – I’m not! I love it. I’m exactly the same with Harry Potter and swear people want to punch me through my laptop screen but its so nice to hear how a series has touched someone so much πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for answering my questions – and crazy thing, but one of the first YA books you have read is one of the first YA books I have read just as well :O I really enjoyed the Blue Blood series, it was so much fun to read! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Once again I love all your answers, Melissa πŸ’•
    I’m super excited for When Dimple Met Rishi too, I can seriously not wait for it to be released, I think it’s going to be amazing 😊 McGonagall has always been my favourite teacher too, along with Lupin and Dumbledore. I didn’t think anyone else read The Blue Bloods series! I seriously loved that series as a teenager and it’s the main reason I got into YA 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Michelle!! 😁 I’ve actually read a few reviews for When Dimple Met Rishi and they were full of praise so I have a strong feeling it’s going to be a fantastic read. And Lupin and Dumbledore are two of my other favorites as well. That’s awesome about the Blue Blood series! You and one other bloggers are the only two people I’ve come across that have read that series. It was seriously one of the best series I read back then. One day I’m going to have to do a reread for the nostalgia lol. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great answers for this part of your Q&A Melissa! πŸ˜€ I can see why Azia’s question tore you so much (personally I’d choose Feyre and Rhys, but only because I haven’t read The Infernal Devices yet. You’ll have to ask me again after I’ve finished that series what I’d end up choosing!)
    P.S. I Like You is definitely my feelgood book as well. Then again most contemporary books are because I love reading light and fluffy romances when I’m feeling a little down.
    Also I’m glad to see The Bone Season in here, that is definitely a series I’d take to a desert island, along with the Shades of Magic books and The Lunar Chronicles ones! I couldn’t choose just one favourite! πŸ˜€
    Again great answers, and happy blogiversary as well. Here’s to another year on WordPress! πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Beth!! πŸ’•
      It really did. When I first saw the question I was like “How am I even going to answer that!?” and I couldn’t because I love them both too much. πŸ˜‚ But, yeah, if I hadn’t read TID yet I probably would have chosen the same. And I will definitely be asking once you do read and finish TID!
      Same about the light and fluffy romances. I usually read light contemporaries when I’m feeling down too. P.S. I Like You is definitely one of the tops though because that book is so cute! I’ll never be over it and I really need to read her other books. (If I can ever put down the fantasy reads this year πŸ™ˆ)
      If I could pick more than one to take with me to a desert island I would so take Shades of Magic too. And ACOTAR! The Lunar Chronicles is another series I still haven’t gotten around to yet but need to sometime soon. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right! πŸ˜€ ❀
        I wouldn't have been able to answer it either if I'd actually read TID, because everyone seems to say they loved it so I'll probably be the same. After I have read those three I'll let you know what I would have picked as well! πŸ˜€
        P.S. I Like You is just the ideal fluffy contemporary romance for me, and perfect for light reading as well!
        Shades of Magic and ACOTAR are two majorly amazing series, and hopefully when you get around to The Lunar Chronicles you'll feel the same about that book and it can be another one on your desert island list! πŸ˜€ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same. I’m going to have to end up rereading P.S. I Like You at some point this year just because it’s been a while and I might need a read like it at some point.
        Hopefully! I’ve heard a lot of great things about it so I have a good feeling I’ll enjoy it. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Love your answers Melissa! Six of Crows is the best pick! I love that your answers with The Bone Season stays consistent! haha… no matter who’s asking, The Bone Season is the answer hahaha!! I love that! I have book 1 & 2 checked out from the library already. I can’t wait to devour them! πŸ™‚ Have you been approved for Words on the Wall yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Jasmine!! πŸ’•
      And yes! The Bone Season is always the answer or at least always my answer lol. YAY! I so can’t wait to see what you end up thinking of them. If you love TBS and TMO I swear you’re going to want to get your hands on TSR ASAP.
      I haven’t been approved for Words on the Wall yet. Hopefully soon! *fingers crossed* 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Omg yes Lord of Shadows!! I’m so late on this comment ahah but at least that one’s released now?!? (And you’ve read it, too, haven’t you? Sorry horrible memory) Oooooh and ACOWAR as well, which I know you’ve read omg I really need to read it sometime. I would so be a Antari as well!! JUST IMAGINE aghhhhh how amazing that would be. 😍😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • YEP! I read and loved Lord of Shadows so much. It was an incredible and heartbreaking book. Which since it’s Cassandra Clare I’m not even surprised. πŸ˜‚ It would be amazing to be an Antari! I would spend my day traveling between worlds for sure lol. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

      Like

Leave a Reply

