REVIEW: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

WARNING: If you’ve yet to read Red Queen proceed with caution. I can’t promise you won’t run into a spoiler for the first book. However, if you have read Red Queen proceed ahead worry free because I promise I won’t have spoiled anything.
glasssword

Title: Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 444

Rating:4shootingstarrating

Synopsis (source):

“If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.”


“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

I had such high hopes for this book. I don’t think it didn’t meet my expectations but I also don’t think it did meet them, if that makes any sense.

Victoria Aveyard has created a cast of amazingly complex and flawed characters in her books. Some I love, some I hate. That is one of the things I really love about both books.

“The girl I see is both familiar and foreign, Mare, Mareena, the lighting girl, the Red Queen, and no one at all.”

Mare is definitely not the strong, seemingly fearless, and unapologetic lead we last saw in Red Queen. A lot has happened to her and a lot more happens to her in Glass Sword. Her trust was shattered. Not only does she not trust anyone but it seems as if she doesn’t even entirely trust herself anymore. Mare is wholly a flawed character to begin with and that’s something I love about her (and still do.). She’s not perfect. She’s very much the unreliable narrator of Glass Sword. You only know, believe, and trust as much she does. Which is extremely frustrating at times but it seems, to me, that is what the author wants you to feel. Mare doesn’t really know how to properly process extreme emotions, she doesn’t know how to just let herself feel them. That fact definitely brings out the worst in her at times. She’s also been put in a very precarious and desperate situation. The phrase; desperation can bring out the worst in people came to mind a lot. She really ticked me off at times but overall no love for her was lost on my part. In fact I feel as if she was on the road to redeeming herself toward the very end of Glass Sword. One thing you learn for certain though is the fact that Mare is willing to do literally anything to protect those she cares about.

Yes. I’m defending Mare. I know a lot of people don’t like her but I find it hard not to like her.

Cal, ShadeFarleyMavenKilorn, and etc. There’s so much I want to say about all of the characters in this book because I have so many feelings from Glass Sword that involve them all but I don’t think I could avoid not including spoilers if I do.

I will say this though; Shade is my favorite. He is my top favorite. I need a whole novella that is connected to Glass Sword that is all in Shade’s POV asap. Maven reminds me of Joffrey and Ramsey from Game of Thrones. I’ve honestly disliked him since book one; I never trusted him. Farley; I’m pretty sure I know what’s going on with her but zipping my lips because spoilersCal and Kilorn; I felt like both of them grew so much in this book.

Glass Sword is incredibly action packed and suspenseful which is something I absolutely loved about it. Red Queen in comparison had a slow beginning and was much more of a world and story builder as all first books usually are. With Glass Sword, Victoria Aveyard jumped right into the story starting where Red Queen left off and didn’t look back or take a breath. For 90% of the book I was completely spell bound by the words on the page and didn’t want to stop reading. There were times when I was decidedly annoyed and or frustrated by what was going on but I think that was the point. I was still thoroughly enjoying it.

Then something happened that made me really upset (which I won’t spoil) and I nearly DNF’d the book right then and there. Don’t let the fact that I almost didn’t finish it deter you though because I am glad I finished it.

Glass Sword has a decidedly shocking ending that will leave you instantly craving the next installment. You’ll also meet some interesting new characters from a place that is otherwise unknown to the reader and I have a feeling they’re going to play a big part in the final book. Will the part they play be good or bad? I guess we’ll all have to wait to find out. I for one am sitting on the edge of my seat anticipating what could happen next.


Some Of My Favorite Quotes:

“Remember how strong you are.”

“Like me, he knows there’s always more than meets the eye, more than we can even begin to comprehend.”

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

“In the darkness of night, it’s easy to let your mind wander.”

“In that moment, we’re different from who were are now, but the same as we’ve always been.”

“Everything has its price.”


You can purchase this book on: Amazon, B&N, Book Depository, iBooks, Googleplay, or you can check it out at your local library.


This review was a tad bit delayed because it took my two days to pick it back up again after the particularly upsetting part, but it’s finally here! It’s also really long. I apologize for that but I had a lot I wanted to get out. If you actually read it all then you’re amazing haha.

(Imagine if I would have done a spoiler review though. It would have been way longer. 😂🙈)

-Melissa
instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

Red Queen Review/Recommendation [here]

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

    • I noticed the same before I read it! Everyone kept telling me I would like it, but all of the reviews I saw for it were negative. It made me anxious about it haha. Although there was one thing I really didn’t like I did end up enjoying the overall book 😊. I hope you enjoy it whenever you read it! 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

