That’s A Wrap! Reading, Reviews, and What’s Ahead //June-July

thatsawrapjune

I’m going to be trying something a little different this month. Instead of my usual Wrap-Up and TBR, I’m going to make a combination sort of post that I’ll be using from now on because it’ll be a huge time saver.


juneflashback

I had such a great reading and blogging month! I hit 50 posts, YAY. I also read and reviewed five books this month, and I so could have managed six if I hadn’t hit a reading slump at the end of the month. Either way, I’m happy about the fact that I managed to read and blog more this month!

giphy

-Read + Reviewed-

1junereadandreview

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard [REVIEW]

4STARRATINGBNM (4/5)

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas [REVIEW]

5STARRATINGBNM(5/5)

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas [REVIEW]

5STARRATINGBNM(5/5)

Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers [REVIEW]

3STARRATINGBNM(3/5)

Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout [REVIEW]

4STARRATINGBNM(4/5)

-Favorite Read-

A Court of Mist and Fury was my favorite read this month. I loved that book so much. It’s also the book that caused my reading slump and I ended up rereading it twice. Honestly, all of the hype surrounding ACOTAR and ACOMAF is well earned because wow.

tumblr_inline_o0n543z1ey1txvgpj_500

Do I really have to wait until next year for the next book? I need to know what happens!

-Haul-

Last month I said I had to go on a book buying ban because I desperately need new shelves. I was successful! I only bought one book this month and it was an eBook for $.99. I also won a giveaway for an autographed book at the beginning of the month. So, June was not a book buying month for me.

Bought: Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Won: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick 

IMG_2665.png

I also made a trip to Barnes & Noble on one of the days they were doing B-Fest and got some goodies. Free bookish stuff YAY!

IMG_2654


julyfastforward

I’m going into July without an actual TBR. I’m going with whatever catches my eye this month as I’m just starting to get out of my ACOMAF induced reading slump. Currently, the only books I’ve actually planned to read is Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig and Torn by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

1julytbr2.png

But I’ve also just started Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins and it’s pretty great so far! Although I’m still within the first few chapters so we’ll see.

1julytbr.png

-Goals-

I only have a few goals for July.

  • Keep up with blogging
  • Keep up with school
  • Keep up with work
  • Read more

I managed to do a lot of blogging this month and I want to keep that pattern going because it’s been fun, and I love getting on here and chatting with all of you and reading your posts.

I do, however, have a feeling that toward the end of July I’ll have to take a tiny break again just to finish out the current class I’m taking. I want to ace that final paper!


monthlythoughts

I had a great month! I’ve also officially been blogging for three months. Which is crazy! How has it already been three months?

I didn’t stick to my June TBR completely. I ended up knocking off The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout because of my reading slump. I wasn’t in the mood for it. Who knows, maybe I’ll pick it up sometime this month?

I read five books though! That may not seem like a big deal, but I’ve been consistently only managing three books a month so I’m extremely happy about that. I hope I can keep that pattern up in July!

My first month as a college student went well, but I definitely need to get a handle on my procrastination. We have to do these discussions that are due every Thursday and I keep putting them off until the last minute. Oops 🙈. I ended up having to take a Mini-Hiatus this past week so that I could get myself to focus a bit more because I had a paper due. My Mini-Hiatus is officially over now, but might be making an appearance again at the end of July.

Can you believe it’s already July!? The first half of 2016 flew by! Here’s to hoping the second half of 2016 is a good one for us all. 😊

Anyway, I hope all of you had a great month as well!

What books did you read this month? What was your favorite? Did you have a good blogging month or just a good month in general? What do you plan on reading in July? 

-Melissa

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

28 thoughts on “That’s A Wrap! Reading, Reviews, and What’s Ahead //June-July

  1. Proud of you for getting through your first month of college! (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ it can be really stressful, so mini-hiatuses are totally warranted when you need them. I feel you on ACOMAF, like really, how can a book be such an unreal level of good?! I think it was my favorite read from this month as well. It was a surprisingly good month for blogging, especially after starting out so rough. Here’s hoping July goes well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwww thank you ❤️! I’m pretty proud of my self, especially given that I was so anxious about college. It has been going a million times better than I thought it would.

      AND YES! I still can’t believe how amazing ACOMAF was! I didn’t think any book would top Lady Midnight as my favorite read of 2016, but ACOMAF did. Although, Colleen Hoover’s has a new book coming out soon so we’ll see if it keeps top status haha.

      I’m glad you had a good blogging month! I hope July goes well for you too. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on hitting the three month mark!! ACOMAF wasn’t amazing wasn’t it?!? *fangirls* I’m so excited to hear that you’re reading the Sweet Evil series!! I really enjoyed it and I have reread multiple times. I mean why wouldn’t I, Kai is a great reason alone. 😉 Torn by Jennifer L. Armentrout is on my TBR list

    LOOK AT THAT PILE OF BOOKISH THINGS!!! AAHHH! I would hoard and hoard so many things if I had a Barnes & Nobles near me. Like please share? 😀

    Good luck to you and your July of blogging and reading! Can’t wait to read your upcoming reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😄

      YES! ACOMAF WAS PERFECT! I’m still in awe over the perfectness of it! ❤️

      Sweet Evil has been on my TBR forever, and I’m honestly wondering why I never picked it up before now. So far I’m loving it and completely agree with you about Kai. And YAY! I’m really excited to read Torn, especially after Wicked’s ending. Here’s to hoping Torn doesn’t rip our hearts out! haha

      *virtually shares B&N bookish things* 😊

      Goodluck to you as well! And I can’t wait to read your upcoming reviews too!

      Liked by 1 person

      • *as I try to control my fangirl feels* ACOMAF is one of the best books of 2016. Hands down. I can’t wait until you finish the trilogy!!! You will love the companion, Sweet Temptation in Kai’s POV. Ohmygosh, it totally will though!! We must prepare our hearts and souls for some serious JLA twists. *virtually swims in bookish things* THANK YOU!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • It really is! *counts down all of the days until the next book* 😫

        I’m almost finished with Sweet Evil and OH MY GOD THIS BOOK! I went from ACOMAF to a book that’s messing with my emotions even more. Sweet Temptation is Kai’s POV!? I can’t wait! 😄

        I know right!? Her and her plot twists that like to break my heart only to fix it later on! *tries to prepare self*

        Liked by 1 person

      • aaahh so far away! Yes Sweet Temptation is the whole trilogy in Kai’s POV!!! When it first got announced I was FREAKING OUT. Such a great extra for us fans. And I can’t say no to Kai anyway. XD Have you read JLA’s other series before?

        Liked by 1 person

      • It is!? I was actually thinking about how much I would love to see his POV of Sweet Evil while I was reading it because I wanted to know what he was thinking so bad. I’m going to love that!

        Yep 😊! I’ve read all of her books except one series that I can’t remember the name of at the moment lol. The Covenant series is my favorite! It was the first thing I ever read by her. What’s your favorite by her?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I know right?! It’s a beautiful creation. You’ll definitely love it!! I love The Covenant series so freaking much!!! But I read the Lux series first so I have to give them the title of favourite! (I actually can’t choose between them. Both are amazing!!) Is that the series you’re talking about? Or the Dark Elements?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I really love the Lux series too! I read Covenant first then Wait For You and then Lux. They’re all so amazing! I swear I’ve never found a book of hers that I don’t love. Dark Elements! I’m hoping to get around to that series sometime this year because I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, yes, yes!! I’d advise you get to it soon! I haven’t read Wait For You… I should get on that soon too! XD ahhh I’m getting so many feeels! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I definitely will! And you so should! Wait For You is amazing 😄! It’s one of those book that I could reread a million times and never get tired of haha. The whole series is incredible in general though. JLA books always bring on all of the feels! 🙈

        Also I’m half way through Sweet Reckoning and OH MY GOD THIS SERIES!

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re a little book monster!!!! I’ll catch up on your reviews, promise!! I’m so busy right now😓😕

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol this is actually the quickest I’ve read a series is forever! I’m in shock over the fact that I finished it all in less than a week. I so loved Sweet Temptation by the way! And the ending was beyond perfect!!! ❤️ *in book hangover mode*

        No rush, they’ll still be there when you’re not busy 😊. I understand being busy, I’m right there with you because of school. So little time in the day!

        Like

    • Yep 😄! I hope June was a good reading month for you too!
      Thank you! I’m still in shock over the fact that I won it. The first giveaway I’ve ever won haha.
      I hope so too, I’ve actually read the first few pages and it seems like it’s going to be really good. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

