Standalone Sunday | Bellamy and The Brute

standalonesunday

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @ bookslayerReads that spotlights a standalone novel that you loved and would recommend or one that you’re excited to read. Be sure to check out her blog and original post by clicking on the above link! 😊


32419641When Bellamy McGuire is offered a summer job babysitting for the wealthy Baldwin family, she’s reluctant to accept. After all, everyone in town knows about the mysterious happenings at the mansion on the hill—including the sudden disappearance of the Baldwin’s eldest son, Tate. The former football star and Golden Boy of Wellhollow Springs became a hermit at the age of sixteen, and no one has seen or heard from him since. Rumors abound as to why, with whisperings about a strange illness that has caused deformity…turned him into a real-life monster. Bellamy wants to dismiss these rumors as gossip, but when she’s told that if she takes the job she must promise to never, ever visit the 3rd floor of the mansion, she begins to wonder if there really is some dark truth being hidden there.

Tate’s condition may not be the only secret being kept at Baldwin House. There are gaps in the family’s financial history that don’t add up, and surprising connections with unscrupulous characters. At night there are strange noises, unexplained cold drafts, and the electricity cuts out. And then there are the rose petals on the staircase. The rose petals that no one but Bellamy seems to be able to see. The rose petals that form a trail leading right up to the 3rd floor, past the portrait of a handsome young man, and down a dark hallway where she promised she would never, ever go…

As Bellamy works to unravel the mysteries of Baldwin House and uncover the truth about Tate, she realizes that she is in way over her head, in more ways than one. Can her bravery and determination help to right the wrongs of the past and free the young man whose story has captured her heart?

– Goodreads Synopsis (x)

This week I’ve decided to spotlight a standalone that I’ve yet to read but really want to. Bellamy and The Brute is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, which is a huge reason why it caught my eye. I adore Beauty and the Beast retellings! There’s also the fact that I’ve seen nothing but praise for it and it’s a standalone. Coming across a great fantasy standalone is still pretty rare so anytime one is published it almost always goes straight on my TBR. So, yeah, this is definitely one book I’m going to have to read soon.

If anyone is interested it’s currently $4.99 for a Kindle copy through Amazon US.


Have you read Bellamy and The Brute? Did you like it? If not, do you want to read it? If you participate in Standalone Sunday be sure to link me to your post so I can see it. 😊

spsig

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

39 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | Bellamy and The Brute

  1. Ohh great pick for this week Melissa. I saw Megan feature a book she’s yet to read and I may have to do that at some point when I run out of standalones I have read to feature, but it’s a great idea to showcase future standalones as well.
    This sounds like a really interesting book, I’ll probably be checking it out myself as well. I’m a massive fan of fairytale retellings (I feel like you must know this about me by now) and although there are a lot of Beauty and the Beast ones out there already there can never be too many, can there?
    I haven’t seen many fantasy standalones, simply because I think it can be hard to write fantasy books as a standalone, but the fact that you’ve said this one has such great reviews is a huge draw for me as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Beth! 😁💕 And yeah when I saw Megan feature one she hadn’t read I decided I wanted to as well. I haven’t run out of standalones I have read yet but the list is getting pretty short. Just goes to show that I need to read more standalones. 😂
      It really does, seems like it’s putting an interesting twist on the original. Yep I know you’re a huge retelling fan so I had a feeling you’d be interested in this one and I completely agree about there never being too many Beauty and the Beast retellings! I always need more lol.
      I haven’t many as well and most likely for the same reason. I’ve come acorss a few this that I’ve put on my TBR though. But, yeah, this one has great reviews so far which makes me excited to see if I end up liking it. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, yeah I saw Megan do the same and it definitely put the thought in my mind as well. Now I’ve seen you do it it’s something I’m definitely going to do at some point myself as well because there are a fair few standalones I want to read that I could feature.
        I love interesting twists on originals, but to be honest it could be a standard retellings that sticks close to the original tale and I’d still be so excited to read it. Oh I’m definitely not complaining about how many there are, although I’d like to see more of other fairytale retellings I love Beauty and the Beast so so much.
        I’m sure you’ll end up liking it, it sounds like an amazing book. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same, it’s just neat to have a retelling of an original tale. Especially as most seem to explore new aspects even when not putting in any twists. I’d like to see more of other retellings too! I’ve actually been wishing for a Mulan one. Which, isn’t there going to be a loose Mulan retelling out sometime this year? 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I definitely agree with you there. It’s like reading a familiar story but noticing new things about it. The plot will end up going in directions you never thought it would.
        There is a Mulan one, I think you must be thinking of Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. It’s one of my most anticipated releases for this year! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! Flame in the Mist is exactly the one I was thinking of. I’m really excited for it too. I’ve seen in floating around NetGalley and have been tempted to request it but didn’t because so many of my most anticipated releases are out soon. 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I hope you get approved for it! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you. 😁
        A lot of mine have been too. I think I only have two others that are really high up on my list that are released in the second half of the year while the majority are already out or are out very soon.

        Liked by 1 person

      • YAY! I’m glad you got approved for it. Now I can keep on the lookout for your review since I’m refusing to let myself request it lol.
        It does! On one hand I’m glad we haven’t had to wait long but on the other hand I need to find more book release to be excited about now. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll be posting my review around mid-May time, but I can always let you know what I think when I’ve finished reading it, which will be sometime next week.
        There are always more, I guess we just haven’t heard of many being released later this year yet. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh I didn’t know about that book AT all, but it sounds so good – I’m all for a Beauty & The Beast retelling…adding this to my TBR right now, thank you Melissa! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg I really wanna read this book too! Great pick, Melissa! I was absent from the blogosphere the week of this post (I wasn’t even able to post one myself), and I missed out on blog hopping so didn’t see it till just now. Sorry! But I got back on track last week, thank goodness, and was able to post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

