Waiting On Wednesday #16 | Words On Bathroom Walls

newWOW.png

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly post hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming book releases that you’re eagerly anticipating!


It’s been a long time since I last did Waiting On Wednesday. I stopped doing it because most of my anticipated reads were for 2017 and didn’t have blurbs. Alas, it’s 2017 and I have a whole slew of new anticipated reads so I’m going to start doing it again.

This week I’ll be spotlighting Words On Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton. I stumbled across this title while surfing NetGalley one day and automatically added it to my TBR because of the fact that the main character has schizophrenia. I’ve yet to find a YA contemporary that has great representation as far as schizophrenia goes but I’ve been seeing some positive reviews so I have hope for this book.

25695640
Release Date: July 4th, 2017
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Goodreads Synopsis: 

Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.

Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

 


You can pre-order it on: Amazon, B&N, iBooksBook Depository, Google Play and Kobo


What books are you excited for!?

If you do Waiting on Wednesday link me to your post so I can see. 😊

spsig

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

Advertisements

22 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #16 | Words On Bathroom Walls

    • Same! I requested it before I went on my self-imposed NetGalley ban and it’s still pending for me too. I’ve had them approve a week before a book was released once so there’s still hope for us both lol 😊. Thanks so much, Lilly! ♥

      Like

  1. Before last week I hadn’t featured a WoW post on my blog either, and I probably won’t be starting anytime soon but maybe one day I’ll go back to the feature, maybe alternate so do WoW one week and Standalone Sunday the next. I dunno.
    Anyways…I love the sound of this book Melissa, and I am definitely going to add it straight onto my to-read list because it sounds amazing. I haven’t read The Perks of Being a Wallflower and It’s Kind of a Funny Story but I have read and loved More Happy Than Not so I feel this could definitely be a book for me.
    Great pick for this week Melissa, thanks for bringing it to my attention so I could add it to my to-read list! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • See, that’s what I’m thinking of doing – alternating between this and Standalone Sunday. Mainly because some weeks I don’t have time to post on Sunday and I want to get back into posting two or three times a week consistently. 😊
      Yay! I’m glad I could get you to add it to your TBR. It really does sound like an incredible book and so far I’m seeing a lot of positive reviews. I’ve not read any of the three books yet but I have seen the movies for the latter two which were amazing so with that comparison I’m definitely more intrigued about this.
      Thanks so much Beth and you’re welcome!! 😊♥

      Liked by 1 person

      • I always like doing two weekly features a week. I think anymore than that is just too much you know? And actually I may start doing some WoW posts alternating. Maybe starting next month.
        I haven’t read anything that deals with schizophrenia like this book seems to. I’ll be interested in seeing how the author handles the situations and the characters. I haven’t even seen the movies so I guess you’re a step ahead of me there!
        That’s all right. 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • I completely agree! Back when I did more than two it made my blog feel a little cluttered and it also took up time I could have spent on something else. Two is way more manageable. 😊
        I’ve read a few books that have dealt with schizophrenia (none of which were handled well) but this one’s synopsis definitely stands out from those. It really will be interesting seeing how the author handles it all.
        I don’t remember much about It’s Kind of a Funny Story but I’ve watched Perks several times and so recommend that movie. It was so well done! I need to read the book already though lol. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah that’s what I thought as well. Besides if your doing three weekly features each week it doesn’t leave a lot of time for reviews, tags, discussions, etc. I don’t see many people do more than two features. Most people seem to stick to one I think.
        I haven’t so I guess this will be the first I pick up. If the others you read weren’t as stand out-ish as this one seems to be I guess it’s better I start with this one.
        In that case I will add the book to me to-read list and once I’ve read it I’ll get started on the movie! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • I completely agree, it really doesn’t leave much time for other types of posts. I don’t see many do more than two either.
        Definitely better that you start with this one! And hopefully it’s one we both end up enjoying. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting pick Melissa! The schizophrenia reminds me of a movie.. gosh, I can’t think of the name! the cover does looks cool. I didn’t notice of this book when I was browsing through NetGalley last time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s