Blog Tour/Review: Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn

CORRUPT ME 300dpi Banner.png

Thanks so much to Jill for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.


corrupt-me-book-coverTitle: Corrupt Me
Author: Jillian Quinn
Publisher: Penn Publishing
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Format: eBook
Goodreads Synopsis:

Izzie Rinaldi has everything going for her. All she has to do is make it through her senior year of college, and then she’ll be off to law school, one step closer to assuming her position at the head of her family’s empire. After a chance encounter with the campus bad boy, Izzie can’t get him out of her head.

Luca Marchese, the smooth-talking son of the most notorious man in Philadelphia, is used to getting what he wants. He hasn’t forgotten the girl he knew as a child, and now that he has Izzie’s attention, Luca will stop at nothing to have her.

Luca’s defiance of the law turns Izzie on more than she cares to admit. She wants Luca to corrupt her in every way possible, despite his reputation as the king of one-night stands. Their attraction is undeniable, but their desire for one another isn’t enough for Izzie to overlook visits from federal agents and the potential ruin of her family.

Linked to Luca and a criminal underworld, Izzie discovers she’s more like him than she thought. But a future with Luca could mean swapping her diamond bracelets for a pair of handcuffs.

*Corrupt Me is a standalone novel that is the first book in the Philly Corruption series.

4STARRATINGBNM


Are looking for your next book boyfriend? Are you looking for a thrilling and fan worthy romance? (Yes, you read that right, fan worthy because it is HOT.) If you are, then look no further because Corrupt Me has all of that and so much more. This was my first venture into any sort of mafia romance so I didn’t know exactly what to expect but ultimately what I got was a book that I loved and will be rereading in the future.

“Why did the wrong thing always feel so right? Was there something inherently evil inside me, trying to break free?”

Izzie Rinaldi’s life is pretty much set in stone – finish college, graduate from law school, and one day assume her position as head of her families’ empire. As a Rinaldi, she knows what’s expected of her and that plan does not include Luca Marchese, the son of Philadelphia’s most notorious mafia boss and owner of her first kiss. That is until she runs into him at school, literally. Luca has never forgotten about his bella donna and is determined to convince her that he’s worth a chance. Not only is Izzie completely against it because of his womanizing ways but also because of who his father is and the fact that their two families cut ties long ago. Or so she thinks.

Izzie has officially ranked herself among my top favorite female characters. In fact, I wish there were more characters like her in the new adult genre. She’s snarky, strong, and independent. Izzie is the type of women who doesn’t take anyone’s crap, including Luca’s.  She’s also someone who constantly has her guard up because of the fact that she often attracts people who want something from her because of who she is. Over time, we see that guard drop and underneath it is someone who will do anything in her power to protect those that she loves.

“Everything about him screamed danger, and I wanted him to corrupt me in every way possible.”

Luca. Can I just start off by saying that I need a Luca in my life? Going into Corrupt Me I was expecting this hardcore bad boy and he turned out to be anything but. Sure, he wasn’t perfect and was definitely a criminal in his own right but he had the sweetest heart. I loved him. I wanted to shake some sense into him a few times but I loved him.

And don’t even get me started on Luca and Izzie together! Remember what I said about fan worthy? Some of those steamy scenes definitely require one. Aside from that, they were so cute together! There was this one part near the end and I’m still swooning over it. In the beginning, there was a bit too much back and forth in the romance department for my liking but overall I loved how Izzie made Luca work for it. She didn’t make it easy for him and the romance was better for that.

“You’re my don, Izzie. You’re much stronger than you think.”

As for the rest of our incredible cast of characters, I adored Luca’s mom, Silvia, and Hunter. I was a bit iffy on Mark but his move at the end made him okay in my book. Silvia was such a great friend. I feel like there aren’t enough great female friendships in new adult as a whole and I’m so glad there was one in this. As for Luca’s mom, I love how supportive she was of Luca and their close relationship was one of my favorite things. I also love how she took Izzie in and treated her like a long lost daughter.

I also really enjoyed learning a bit about both of Izzie’s and Luca’s families’ backgrounds. It was really interesting considering all of the mafia stuff. I’m the type of reader who loves character history so it was a nice treat. Plus, the whole city was painted so vividly. Jill’s writing transported me to Philadelphia and I love when a book can do that.

“He could kiss me, and I would have nowhere to run. And, surprisingly, the thing was, I wanted him to kiss me.”

All in all, I think it’s safe to say that I loved this book (and that I’ve overused the word love). It was extremely gripping for a romance novel and I found myself on the edge of my seat so many times. I attribute that to the mafia aspect and officially need more romance novels with it. So, if you’re in the market for a new book boyfriend, love characters who break out of typical romance stereotypes, are intrigued by the mafia aspect, or anything I mentioned above then I highly recommend Jill’s book. Trust me, you won’t regret reading it!


– Where To Buy –

Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Kobo || iBooks

 Add Corrupt Me To Your TBR 


about-the-author

authorpidJillian Quinn was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and currently lives in sunny Cape Coral, Florida where she still pretends it’s okay to drink hot chocolate and curl up on the couch with a good book, even when it’s ninety degrees outside. From an early age, writing and storytelling have been her passion. In her spare time, she loves creating fictional worlds and living inside the minds of her characters as well as reading, art, and watching basketball and hockey.

Jillian is also a successful book blogger, dubbed by her followers as The Queen of Rants after making her blog, Rant and Rave About Books, a popular destination in the bookish community because of her honesty and passion for books.

Corrupt Me is her first novel with other young adult and new adult titles to follow.

Facebook || Twitter || Author Website || Goodreads Profile


Have you read Corrupt Me? What were your thoughts? If not, do you plan to read it?

spsig

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

20 thoughts on “Blog Tour/Review: Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn

  1. LOVE your review! I loved this book and I need a Luca Marchese too. He is so swoon worthy and I love everything about him, even his little criminal ways! lol. I totally agree, we need more female characters like Izzie. Strong, independent but most of all sassy! lots of sassy :). I can’t wait to read about the other two Marchese bad boys!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review Melissa! Really love your layout. Can’t overused love enough when the book is good haha.. Sounds like an interesting read with bad boy trying to win love from a guarded independent girl.. I really need to read my copy soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review Melissa, I think that fact that you used ‘love’ so many times just goes to show how much you really did enjoy it. This is actually the first review I’ve seen for Jill’s book but from the sounds of it I don’t think it will be the last positive one like this I do see. I’m not really a reader of NA books, I tend to stick with YA more than anything else, but this does sound amazing, and it’s great Jill’s first book is getting some recognition and great reviews as well. I’m sure it’s all well deserved because it sounds like she’s created a great story with wonderful characters. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Beth!! 💕
      I really did. It was different from a lot of the other NA novels I’ve read which was great. I think I’ve seen one other review and it was positive as well.
      I read a lot of NA but I rarely review them. I struggle reviewing them for some reason lol. But yeah Jill’s book was amazing and I’m so glad I was able to read it early. It’s definitely great that her book is getting recognition and it does deserves it.
      The characters were probably my favorite part. Especially Izzie. She was so sassy at times and I loved it. 😂😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve started seeing more and more review for this book around WordPress recently and most people agree with your thoughts on it. Even though it’s not the kind of book they’d normally pick up they ended up loving it as well.
        I thought you managed to review this book really well. And hopefully Jill’s book will continue to get recognition in that case. 🙂 It certainly sounds brilliant.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Melissa, OMG this review! 😍 I am so glad you liked the book. If you like Izzie’s strength, then wait until you meet Coach in Parker. She’s somewhat softer than Izzie but also very strong and determined like her. And she’s also my female Jerry Maguire. Parker is a playboy but not for long. I think you’ll like him, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome review, Melissa! I love all the quotes you chose. And I agree… I wish there were more female characters like Izzie. She’s pretty badass, in my opinion. I fell in love with Luca, too. (I think we all did lol) and I’m super excited for book two!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

