The Joy of Christmas Book Tag

BOOKTAGIMAGECHRISTMAS.png

Since Christmas is right around the corner I figured it was the perfect time to do this tag. Also, I was tagged to do this by the lovely Michelle @ Book Adventures so be sure to check out her blog and her post for this tag because both are awesome. πŸŽ„πŸŽ…

This tag was originally created byΒ booktuberΒ Sam from Sam’s Nonsense.


πŸŽ„Β AnticipationΒ πŸŽ„

The Christmas excitement is real, what book release(s) are you most anticipating?

QUESTIONS1.png

I can’t wait until all of these are released so that I can get my hands on them (and read them). I was lucky enough to get an eARC of both The Song Rising and RoseBlood, but I still can’t wait until I have my hands on physical copies. Especially for The Song Rising because I’ve been waiting for that one for over two years now. Is it next year yet?

tumblr_n9qj6n6a5s1smcbm7o1_400

πŸŽ… Christmas Songs & CarolsΒ πŸŽ…

What book or author can you not help but sing it’s praises?

lb-headshot-350.png

After having read and loved both The Grisha Trilogy and the Six of Crows duology, in my eyes, Leigh Bardguo is not only the queen character development but the queen of YA fantasy. Of course, that’s just my opinion. But I absolutely adore her books and very rarely find fault in anything she writes. Her world building is so incredible and she’s definitely become an auto-buy author for me.

πŸŽ„ Gingerbread Houses πŸŽ„

Β What book or series has wonderful world building?

worldbuilding.png

My go-to choice for this would either be The Bone Season or Six of Crows but I’m going to try not to repeat answers. So, I went with ACOTAR. The world building in this series, so far, is one of my favorite things about it. The way Sarah J. Maas has molded this world is so unique in terms of the fairy books I’ve read thus far. I can’t get over it and find myself wishing there was a way to travel into books just so I could visit Velaris.

πŸŽ… Christmas SweetsΒ πŸŽ…

What book would you love to receive for Christmas?

all i want for christmas.png

I’ve actually been instantly hinting at (asking) my parents for one of the above series for Christmas. Ever since I binged both of the tv shows I’ve been dying to get my hands on the books so that I can read them. Will I get them for Christmas? We shall see.

tumblr_mx1522J8tb1rbkbm4o1_500.gif

πŸŽ„ Candles in the WindowΒ πŸŽ„

What book gives you that warm fuzzy feeling?

140212.jpg

This book (and the movie) is one of my all time favorites and never fails to make my happy. I actually saw the movie before reading the book and I remember being so in awe over it. I guess I just love the idea of being able to open a door and find another world hiding behind it.

πŸŽ… Christmas Trees & Decorations πŸŽ…

What are some of your favorite book covers?

prettycovers.png

I absolutely adore these covers! Especially Ari and Dante. There’s just something about covers with night skies that I really love. 😍

πŸŽ„ Christmas JoyΒ πŸŽ„

What are some of your favorite things about Christmas?

tumblr_mxis60m3kE1s2wio8o1_500.gif

I love when they show the old claymation movies. Ever since I was little it’s been a tradition to watch them during the holidays and Rudolph is my favorite. Almost every other night in my house during December you can hear one of them in theΒ background. So, I guess you could say my favorite thing about Christmas is the movies. They’re always so uplifting and put me in the holiday spirit.


I TAG

Everyone!!Β 

If you haven’t done it yet and want to then feel free to give it a go! β™₯


I leave you guys with my favorite version of this Christmas song. I always feel extra Glee and Klaine nostalgia during the holidays. πŸ™ˆ

What are some of your favorite thing’s about the holidays?


regsig

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

44 thoughts on “The Joy of Christmas Book Tag

  1. Ah I love this tag! I’m waiting on a couple of those releases, too! Especially Lord of Shadows and A Court of Wings and Ruin πŸ™‚ I freaking love Leigh Bardugo so I 100% support your choice. I really liked the first season of Outlander. Have you watched the series yet? I’d love to get my hands on the book so I can see how well the book was adapted. All those book covers are GORGEOUS and the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is such a great choice. Lovely post, Melissa! ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love the covers you chose for that cover question! I’ve only read Ari and Dante, but I really wanted the A Thousand Pieces of You series bc those covers are just gorgeous and would look totally amazing on the bookshelf.

    And The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe was so wintery and wonderful. I might have to watch it again soon in celebration of the festive season! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Melissa. πŸŽ‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • The world building as far as the Night Court goes has been my favorite part of the whole series so far. SJM has definitely done a fantastic job with it. I know right!? I can’t wait to finally read that book! Merry Christmas to you too, Niraja. I hope you have wonderful one. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great answers for this tag Melissa, I feel like for the most part as well some of your answers could be mine too!
    I know we’ve talked about it loads but I’m going to say it again because it’s true but I am so so excited for the release of The Song Rising, I can’t wait to get my hands on that book (I’m still keeping an eye on NetGalley in case they release a UK ARC for it!) I also can’t wait for A Court of Wings and Ruin, and actually anything by Sarah J. Maas, she’s become one of my auto-buy authors and I can’t wait to see what she releases next now both the Throne of Glass series and the ACOTAR series is coming to an end.
    I also LOVE Leigh Bardugo, she’s fast become one of my favourite authors and I think anything she writes will be something I eagerly pick up (though I really hope she writes more in the world of Six of Crows and The Grisha trilogy!)
    The covers are some of my favourites too; I love all the covers for the Firebird series, and oh they’re just all super pretty books! ❀

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you, Beth!! πŸ’•
      Yes!! I’ve been keeping my eye out on NetGalley for you too. Every other day I get on there and check and each time I’m like awwww come on 😒. I really hope they add it soon. But yeah we can never talk too much about how excited we are for TSR. I feel like it’s helping time to go by quicker πŸ˜‚. I can’t wait for her ToG releases too! As soon as the last book is out I’m going to tackle that series. She’s definitely becoming an auto-buy author for me too.
      I actually think Leigh is writing something new that’s to be published either next year of 2018. It’s not in the Grisha world (sadly). I can’t remember much about it but I saw this article about it. Definitely something to keep our eyes peeled for. 😊
      Hopefully she does dive back in the Grisha world one day though. I really want more stories from that world too.
      They really are!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, and oh thanks so much Melissa. Hopefully one of us will be able to spot it, and hopefully they’ll add a UK ARC at some point as well! In the meantime we’ll just have to continue talking about how excited we are for its release and any possible theories we have for the characters! It’s definitely helping the time go by quicker for me! πŸ˜€
        I’d definitely recommend waiting for the last book in the series, the cliffhanger in the fifth book is killing me while waiting for the sixth to be released!
        Oh that is a shame, but anything Leigh Bardugo writes goes on my auto-buy list so I can’t really complain. It’s bound to be an amazing book whatever it is!
        Well it’s open for her to do that, you never know one day she may.

        Liked by 2 people

      • No problem!! Maybe they’re just waiting until a little closer to the release date? And yes! I have so many theories but they’re all for the fourth book even though I haven’t even read the third one yet πŸ˜‚. It’s because of all the talk about the fourth one this year lol.
        I feel like its been the year of cliffhangers because so many books ended in them. Most of the series books I’ve read did.
        Same! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Possibly, there have been times when they’ve released a US ARC but haven’t ever released a UK one. Still I’m keeping my eye on the site so you never know. There’s still a fair way for it to be released and until then I have plenty of other ARCs to get started on!
        Quite a few of the series I read have as well. I guess at least with cliffhangers you can ensure you’ll keep the reader’s attention until the next book is released! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 2 people

      • Awww, I hope this isn’t one of those times. It would suck.
        That’s true lol. Cliffhangers, although torture, always keep me thinking about a book until I get the next one. I literally haven’t stop thinking about TMO since I first read it. πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • I’m actually currently reading it and it’s so good! I’m nearly finished and it’s definitely on my favorites list for this year. Also, ACOTAR is such a fantastic read. Whenever you do get around to it I hope you enjoy it. Thanks, Megan! πŸ’•πŸ˜Š

      Like

    • You should! Trust me, I was a bit skeptical going in because of the hype but then it was worth every bit of it. Especially for Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Definitely my favorite duology now. Whenever/if you do read Leigh’s books I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.
      Thanks, Marie! Happy Holidays to you too. I hope you have a fantastic one. 😊β™₯

      Like

  4. Leigh Bardguo is seriously amazing! I adore her books and I know that I’m going to read whatever she writes. I just love her characters and, of course, the Grisha world. πŸ™‚
    And I have to agree with you on The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I adore both the movie and the book and I love rereading (or re-watching) it. It always manages to lift my mood and make me happy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • She really is! Her character’s are always so memorable. And the whole world she created with the trilogy and then expanded on in the duology was incredible. I just finished Crooked Kingdom and I already want to go back and reread everything haha. Yay!! I’m glad so many feel the same about The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. 😊β™₯

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your choices! So many great books! I loved the cover for Ari & Dante too. I’m also anticipating Sarah J Maas’ book 3. I really want to re-read the Lion, Witch and Wardrobe. It’s been awhile and I’m kind of forgetting. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great answers Melissa! I’m also excited for Roseblood and I’ve seen you’re done with it on your GR updates on twitter? Can’t wait to read the full review! πŸ˜€ I SADLY didn’t enjoy The Bone Season.. but I’ve seen A LOT of people mentioned The Song Rising on their most anticipated list πŸ˜› also yes to Leigh Bardugo, you’re not the one who calls her Queen of Fantasy, I do to hahaha and OMG THOSE COVERS ARE SO PRETTY 😻 I just won When the Moon was Ours on a giveaway and I can’t wait for the book to finally arrive! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!! β™₯
      Yes, I finished it and really enjoyed it. I’ve even written my review but took an impromptu break from blogging for work over the past few days. I have it drafted and scheduled to post for tomorrow though. 😊
      Awww I’m sorry you ended up not enjoying TBS. 😒
      It definitely seems like a book/series people either really love or really don’t.
      Yay! I’m glad I’m not the only one who calls her that. She really is the queen of fantasy. I can’t wait for whatever she publishes in the future.
      That’s awesome! I can’t wait to see what you end up thinking of it. I haven’t read it myself yet but I’ve seen so many rave reviews for it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

