What I Do While I’m In A Reading Slump

readingslumpblah.png

So, it’s been a bit since I last posted and while I have been around commenting it hasn’t been as consistent as it once was. I’ve been overwhelmed with school the past two months and then I also fell into my worst reading slump ever. As in I haven’t finished a book in over a month. What have I been doing instead of reading? Well, in lieu of a wrap up as I haven’t been around or reading a lot this month I figured I’d do a little post about what I do while I’m in a reading slump. Luckily I’ve been slowly crawling my way out of my reading slump, but this has pretty much been me for the past month and a half.


I stare at my bookshelf.

Whenever I hit the dreaded reading slump I always tend to find myself staring at my bookshelf (both physical and ebook), searching the books, hoping that something will stick out and give me the motivation to read. Most of the time this search ends with me turning away from my shelves sighing. So many books, so little time? How about so many books but none that I’m in the mood to read.

giphy.gif

I look for movies and shows to binge watch.

After my search for reading motivation fails I usually turn to my old friend Netflix and proceeded to binge watch something. Because what am I supposed to do with all of the time I usually spend reading? Plus, it helps me feel better. During this last slump I binged both seasons of Scream and I regret nothing. Except maybe the fact that I desperately want season three now.

giphy (1).gif

I reread my go to book(s).

Does anyone else have a go to book for when they’re in a slump? AΒ book that no matter what you can read and enjoy? I do. When all else fails I turn to one of my go to books. At the moment said book is A Court of Mist and Fury. However, there is a downside to this strategy because sometimes my go to book just adds to my reading slump. Especially when it’s a book from a series that I desperately want the next book for. Oops. But while I’m reading it at least I can feel like I’m out of my slump for a bit.

matthew-goode.gif

I add a lot of books to my TBR.

Okay, this one is a bit counterproductive but when I’m in a reading slump I almost always find myself on Goodreads searching for books. Do I end up finding one that I want to immediately read? Nine times out of ten no. Do I add a ton of them to my TBR for later? Yep. It’s a terrible habit. *looks at 800+ books on TBR*

QtFZ0PR.gif


Do you do any of these things while you’re in a reading slump? If not, what do you do when you’re in a slump?Β 

signature

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

45 thoughts on “What I Do While I’m In A Reading Slump

  1. I’m in a reading slump at the moment, I finished reading what I’m sure is my book of the year on Monday and haven’t touched a book since then and I just don’t feel like reading, I know it’s less than a week but I try to read quite a bit each day, I’ve got books I can and should read and had been looking forward to but I’m not at the moment, I’m like “books, meh” and turn away. I’ve found my time being taken up by my PS4 and gaming, yeah – I’m a mature adult.πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly how I’ve been feeling since I finished Six of Crows last month. It was probably my top read of this year and after that any book I’ve tried to read I end up not finishing. The sequel is slowly pulling me out of my slump though.
      If I had a gaming system of any kind I would probably be doing the same thing πŸ˜‚. Sometimes it’s better to embrace the slump and get distracted by other things!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol, gaming rules.πŸ˜‚ Distraction is good, I agree it’s better to get distracted by other things you enjoy rather than just be miserable as you don’t know what to read – have to smile when you have so many books though and not one screams read me and I have lots of books.πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can relate to that πŸ˜‚. I have so many books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet and during slumps I’m reminded of that fact even more. I’m like “Embrace the slump!” *watches movie* and then later *looks at books* “Come on! There has to be something I want to read.” πŸ™ˆ.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I try my hardest to embrace it but sometimes I wallow in it wishing I could find something to read πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ. Organizing your shelves is a great idea! I actually did that recently my self. I’ll have to keep in mind about the blog posts. I was so busy with school during this last slump but that could be helpful for any future ones. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I add a lot of books to my TBR also which doesn’t help at all lol. I also always go in where my bookshelf is and look at books that maybe I haven’t read yet. Ugh reading slumps are horrible, I was in one in November it felt like and I’m hoping this month is better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I’m not the only once. It’s my worst habit πŸ˜‚. I’m never short on a list of books I could possibly read though haha. They really are. I wish reading slumps didn’t exist. Hopefully it’s better for both of us this month! I have a few review books I have to power through and then one I’m currently reading to finish so I have high hopes. 😊

      Like

  3. It’s great to see you posting again Melissa, it sucks that you’ve been so busy recently, both with school and with you book slump, but hopefully both those things will get better soon and you’ll be back to posting more regularly like you were soon. πŸ˜€ And either way you’ve been great keeping up with comments, I have trouble with that at times!
    When I’m in a reading slump I definitely do the first three. It’s normally my Kindle but I’ll sit on the train to work and I’ll look through all the books, all the folders, I have waiting for something to jump out but it never does. Then I normally just go to an old book I’ve re-read time and time again and start that from the beginning. Plus I always binge watch shows, that’s something I do even when I’m not in a slump! πŸ˜€
    Eventually reading slumps do end though. I can never really remember what actually ends mine but before you know it you’ll see a book and you’ll start reading and before you know it you’ll have finished it and be ready to start something new again. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Beth!! πŸ’•
      It feels good to finally be posting again. The slump is slowly vanishing with the help of Crooked Kingdom. Yay!! And I have a break from school soon so I’m really excited about that. I have so much blogging and reading planned for winter break. True. Though sometimes I feel like I take forever to reply. πŸ™ˆ
      It’s good to hear that a lot of people have the same reading slump habits as me. I definitely binge watch a lot even when I’m not in reading slumps too. I think 2016 has been the year of binge watching shows because I started so many shows and am now waiting for so many new seasons for a lot of them lol.
      That’s true. Sometimes they feel never ending but eventually they do end. I can’t either but I think even us bookworms need a break from reading every now and then. And then once we get back to it it’s like we never stopped reading. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can imagine, and yeah if any book was going to get me out of a slump it would be Crooked Kingdom as well! πŸ˜€ That must be nice, we don’t really get a break from work, other than the normal bank holidays, but it’s normally quiet in the office so it can be nice going into work you know? I have a lot of blogging planned for December as well, and a fair bit of reading too! πŸ˜€
        Yeah slumps are always horrible, but I think everyone has their own unique way of dealing with them. What works for me way not work for you and vise versa. For me 2017 will be the year of binging shows I think! I have a lot on my to-watch list.
        The joys of being a bookworm right? Honestly though would you ever be able to give up reading completely?

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’ll definitely be nice. I’ll still have work too but less to worry about with school being out. 😊
        That’s true. I’m actually always trying to embrace my reading slumps but mostly I end up just wallowing in them πŸ™ˆ. Though binge watching really does help me to not do that haha. Well I hope you enjoy all the ones on your list! For me, 2017 will be the year of keeping up with all of the shows I started this year πŸ˜‚.
        I would never be able to give up reading. I would be very bored and sad without books.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah I forgot about that side of things. It was the same when I was in school!
        I guess either way a slump never lasts forever, and there’s no set way to get through them so if binge watching is what works for you then I say embrace it! Thanks Melissa, I hope so too, and I know what you mean because that will be my 2017 as well! πŸ˜€
        Same, here’s to never giving up on reading then! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I was in a reading slump for most of the first half of the year. It was horrible and I think I actually bough myself more books during that time than I have now that I’m not in a slump. I have a selection of my favourite contemporaries that I usually go to when I’m in a slump, rereading is the quickest way for me to get out of a slump.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww I’m sorry you were in a slump for so long :(. That had to be terrible.
      I actually bought a ton in October when my slump first started so I know how that is. It’s like adding books to my TBR, I hope that buying them will help me find one that could get me out of my slump haha.
      Rereading is usually the quickest way for me to get out of a slump too. Sometimes it doesn’t work but a lot of the times it does. 😊

      Like

    • It’s good to know I’m not the only one who does all of this. Especially the counterproductive adding books to my TBR πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ. I need to start reading mangas again. I feel like that would be perfect for when I’m in a slump. It’s been too long since I last read one.
      Glad you enjoyed it and that it made you laugh. πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad to see you posting again, and sorry to hear you’ve been so busy, and in a reading slump! I hope it won’t last too long ❀
    I think I'd do the same things if I were in a reading slump, especially the staring at the bookshelf haha. Seeing ALL the books I'm currently not reading… it's kind of a torture hahahaha but sometimes it makes me feel like picking up a book again πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Marie!! πŸ’•
      Luckily now that I’m able to focus on reading again Crooked Kingdom is slowly pulling me out of my slump. I’m sure as soon as winter break hits I’ll be reading like crazy again.
      I’m glad I’m not the only one who does that πŸ˜‚. It really is torture in a way because it just reminds of all the books I know I want to read or haven’t read but can’t seem to get the motivation to actually read. But yeah there are times it does that for me too. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I totally feel your struggle! Back when I was still in uni I NEVER had the time to read without feeling guilty hahaha I signed up for a lot of activities so even my weekends were booked :’) hope you find your groove soon πŸ˜€ I heard you on staring at bookshelves!! I do this too, trying to pick one to read but end up not reading any of them :’) also yes to binge watching tv shows and re-reading books, the latter usually works on getting me back in the reading mood ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 800? OH MY GOD, I have 100 and Im already stressed. I dont think I’ve ever been on a reading slump, there were just times when I read more (THIS YEAR) and others less but I’ve always wanted to read a book haha

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great tips, Melissa β™₯ I totally do the adding an insane amount of books to your Goodreads TBR, haha. I’m kind of in a mini-slump right now. Although I feel like I’m ALWAYS in a slump because of my lack of ability to focus on something haha. I normally read comics/graphic novels to help me! Sometimes binging Netflix will work for me too. I find the best thing to do is not force yourself to read though because that makes the slump a million times worse.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lauren!! πŸ’•
      It seems a lot of us go TBR adding crazy during slumps πŸ˜‚.
      Oh no. I hope you’re able to pull out of it soon. I need to try reading comics/graphic novels when I’m in a slump. I had someone else tell me they do something similar. Fast paced reads like could definitely help to get back into the reading flow. I used to read a lot of manga but its been so long.
      That’s true. Sometimes I find myself fighting a slump but others I’m like screw it *binges movies and shows* haha.

      Like

  9. I always fall into a reading slump after reading three or four good books… inevitably I just know the next one won’t wow me the same way. When that happens I generally mope around, then have a clean out (books, clothes – sometimes I just rearrange the furniture in my bedroom). Boredom eventually sinks in and I will return to my books….

    Liked by 1 person

    • For me, it only takes one fantastic book and then I’m sent down reading slump lane. But yeah, I think it’s that knowing that no other book is going to wow you as much as the previous one did.
      I can definitely relate with the moping and this past reading slump I reorganized my shelves for something to do. Distractions can be pretty helpful. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

