Standalone Sunday | The Sky is Everywhere

standalonesunday

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @ bookslayerReads that features a standalone novel that you loved or would recommend. Be sure to check out her blog and original post by clicking on the above link! 😊


6604794Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

-Goodreads Synopsis(x)

Of course for my first Standalone Sunday post I had to feature The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson because of the fact that it is my favorite book. I say a lot that this book or that book is one of my favorites but this one is the top of the top. I’ve shamelessly recommended it so many times on my blog and to people in real life. It’s about life and grief and learning to live after having lost someone you were really close to. It’s also about family, one that isn’t all that typical. Plus it has these great poems that the main character writes that are used as a flashback of sorts. I laughed and cried while reading this book. It’s just perfect and I’ll continue to shamelessly recommend it haha.


Have you read The Sky is Everywhere? Did you like it? If you participate in Standalone Sunday be sure to link me to your post so I can see it. 😊

signature

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

Advertisements

28 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | The Sky is Everywhere

    • In a way it is a love story but I also think the love aspect has a lot to do with her learning/figuring out how to deal with her grief and move on. It’s hard to explain but it really is fantastic and I hope you end up enjoying it. Thank you!! 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ohh, is this a new feature, I haven’t seen it before? Either way I definitely definitely agree with your recommendation for this week. The Sky is Everywhere is my favourite Jandy Nelson book and one of my all0time favourite YA contemporary books. I feel like I’ve recommended this to so many people as well but it’s just such a beautiful book that I know so many people are going to love it and I can’t help myself.
    I loved the poems, they were actually one of my favourite parts of the story just because they were so moving, you could feel the grief in them. Normally I’m not a poetry person but these were amazing. 😀
    Great pick for this week Melissa! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep! Megan started doing it last week and I decided I wanted to join in because it’s fun and quick and I enjoy recommending books to people. 😊
      It really is. I actually reread parts of it today after I did this because I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I’m the same way.
      They were one of my favorite parts too and definitely very moving. I also loved the insight they gave into who her older sister was.
      Thank you, Beth! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well in that case I will definitely be taking part in this one next week. I’m already thinking of books I can feature. 🙂
        I’m definitely feeling a need to re-read this one, and I’ll Give You the Sun as well. Both of them are just amazing stories.
        Yes, and also how she felt immediately after her sister’s death and how she dealt with everything in those first few weeks you know?
        That’s all right. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yay! I can’t wait to see what you end up choosing. 😊
        They really are and I can’t wait for whatever she ends up publishing next.
        Yeah, and I loved how they really tied in at the end to where you figure out the whole time that he’s the one who has been finding her poems. They was Jandy Nelson did all of that was so perfect.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have a few ideas, I may try and pick standalone books I enjoyed which don’t have a lot of recognition because I can certainly think of a few of those.
        Oh same here, there’s no blurb on Goodreads yet is there? I think there’s a title but nothing beyond that for her next release.
        Oh I loved that, it included where they were found underneath and I wondered what that was until I got to the end! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Sky is Everywhere is one of my favorite books too! I loved everything about it from the writing, plot, and characters. I specially like how the characters were not perfect and they made a lot of mistakes that helped them grow. Have your read Jandy Nelson’s other book, I’ll Give the Sun because it’s also one of my favorites! 😊💙

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved that about it too. The fact that the character’s were so flawed is what made it that much more realistic, for me. I have read it and loved it 😊. Jandy Nelson is an auto-buy/auto-read author for me. I drop everything for any book she releases.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s