Waiting On Wednesday #14 | RoseBlood

newWOW.png

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event/post hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that someone is eagerly anticipating!


This week I’m spotlighting RoseBlood by A.G. Howard. I am beyond excited for this book! The second I heard that it was a Phantom of the Opera retelling I knew I was going to want to read it. I’m a huge Phantom of the Opera fan. Combine that with the fact that the synopsis sounds incredible and there goes another spot on my most anticipated releases list for next year. I can’t wait! Plus, look at that cover! 😍

28818314Release Date: January 10th, 2017

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

A. G. Howard brings the romantic storytelling that Splintered fans adore to France—and an entirely new world filled with lavish romance and intrigue—in a retelling inspired by a story that has captivated generations. Fans of both the Phantom of the Opera musical and novel, as well as YA retellings such as Marissa Meyer’s Cinder, will devour RoseBlood.


You can pre-order it on: Amazon, B&N, iBooksBook Depository, and Kobo


What books are you excited for!?

If you do Waiting on Wednesday link me to your post so I can see. 😊

signature

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

27 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #14 | RoseBlood

  1. 1st stop on my blog hoppin Wednesday is YOU MELISSA! hehe 😉 there’s so much excitement surrounding this book, I had no idea it was a highly anticipated read until I p/u a copy at Bookcon. I really hope it lives up to everyone’s expectations because that is one stunnnnnning cover & the premise is innnnneresting 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • YAY!!! 🎉🙈♥
      There definitely is and I didn’t know it was either until I saw so many with physical ARCs or wanting ARCs. I saw it on someone else’s WOW a while back but then nothing else until recently. I hope it does too. I never heard back on my ARC request email so yesterday I gave into the urge to request it on NetGalley and got approved this morning. I’m excited!! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great pick for this week Melissa. RoseBlood is a book I’m really excited for as well (I think I featured it as my WoW a few months ago!)
    I really loved all of A.G. Howard’s books I’ve read so far, though is pretty much just the Splintered trilogy at the moment. Still she’s a great author when it comes to retellings, and because of the slightly dark tone of her Wonderland I feel her Phantom of the Opera will be just as amazing!
    I’m not much of a fan of the original story, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen it the whole way through (and I haven’t seen it on stage either which could be why I’m not a fan of it you know) but still the blurb for this book sounds amazing, and I love the cover as well!
    It’s available on NetGalley is you wanna try requesting it. I tried and got declined but if you haven’t already you should give requesting it a go, I’ll keep my fingers crossed you get approved! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Beth! I think you might have. I know I originally saw this one on someone’s WOW a while back and that’s what got me interested in it. 😊
      This one will actually be the first I’ve read by her but I’ll definitely need to check out her other books if I enjoy it.
      I’ve actually never seen it on stage either, but I really want to one day. I’ve seen the movie though and that’s what originally caused me to fall in love with it. But I get that, it’s probably something you either really love or don’t.
      I actually sent an email request to the publisher and when I never heard back I decided to try through NetGalley. I got approved this morning 😊! I’m sad you got declined though :(. I think the only reason they approved me is because I reviewed one of their other titles last month.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah this one has been on my to-read list for a while so it was a case of as soon as the cover was released it was on my blog as a WoW post.
        The Splintered series is really good, but like you said if you like this one then maybe you can make a start on that trilogy as well!
        I feel like I’ve seen part of the movie but I haven’t seen it all the way through so maybe if I do I’ll love it. I guess in seeing it as the play would be even better though.
        Oh that’s amazing. You’ll have to let me know what think when you’ve finished. Yeah, but I’m not too bothered about it. I’ll still get to read it when it’s released and I have a few other ARCs on my list to get to soon! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll have to look The Splintered series up on Goodreads because I’m kind of curious what it’s about now.
        Probably. I hope I get see the play one day. It’s so expensive seeing the play though. When the Broadway cast of the play were touring and came to where I live I looked up tickets and wow they were a lot.
        I definitely will! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s really good, it’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling which may explain why I love it so much! But I’m not the only one so I hope you end up loving it as much as I do. 😀
        Yeah plays can be expensive over here as well, it’s worth going but it’s not something I’m able to do often without bankrupting myself!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

