The Netgalley Book Tag

thenetgalleybooktag.png

It has been a long time since I did a tag and as I’mΒ really behind on them I figured it was time to pull one off of my list and do it. Plus, I’m forcing myself to not start another book until I finish revisions on my critical analysis essay so this is my next choice in procrastination. πŸ˜‚

I was tagged byΒ Ari @ The Daydreaming BookwormΒ to doΒ The Netgalley Book TagΒ a while back. Thank you so much again for the tag! If you don’t already follow her blog then be sure to check it out. β™₯😊

Rules:

  • Link back to the tag’s creator – Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads
  • Thank and link back to the person who tagged you.
  • Answer the questions the best you can. If you don’t use NetGalley, you can substitute other sites or places where you get books!
  • Tag a few people to do this too.


AUTO-APPROVED: Who’s one author whose books you automatically want to read, regardless of what they’re about?

Colleen Hoover. Anytime I see that she is going to be publishing a new book it automatically goes to the top of my TBR. It doesn’t matter if I know what it is going to be about or if it even has a title. I know that I love Colleen’s writing and I’ve loved all of her previous books.

REQUEST: What makes you want to request a book that you see on NetGalley?

Usually the synopsis. Which is a huge problem because I’m all “Hey this sounds interesting! *click* Oh what about this one? It sounds interesting too! *click*” and it’s a never ending cycle like the one that led to the month of September being all NetGalley ARCs I had to finish by October 4th. Never again. (Hopefully.)

salem-noselfcontrol

FEEDBACK RATIO: Do you review every book you read? If not, how do you decide what books to review?

I actually don’t. The main reason why is because sometimes I don’t have enough to say or the book didn’t make much of an impression on me. With my previous blog, I had a problem with thinking I absolutely had to review every book I read and that pressure is a big reason why I quit blogging for a while. Going into this one I promised myself that if I didn’t want to review a book I wouldn’t. If it’s an ARC or a review book I will review it no matter what but for other books it depends on how I feel after I read them and if I have the time.

BADGES: If you could create your own badge to display on your blog, what would it be for?

I so want a badge that says ‘The Procrastinating Bookworm‘. I use reading as a procrastination tool sometimes (a lot of the time) and so I feel like that is an accurate badge for me to have. It would also be a great blog name. Someone should use it if no one has already! πŸ˜‚

91

WISH FOR IT: What’s one book that you are absolutely dying to read?

The Song Rising! I need that book. I need it to be March 2017 so I can buy that book. I need an ARC to magically appear in front of me so I can read it now. I’ve been waiting for that book for two years and I just really want it. Someone should build a time machine for me. πŸ™ˆ

tumblr_n9qj6n6a5s1smcbm7o1_400

2016 NETGALLEY CHALLENGE: What was the last book that you received as an ARC that you reviewed? If you’ve never received an ARC, what’s the last book you reviewed?

 

The last ARC I reviewed was Dancing in the Rain by Lynn Joseph, which was a fantastic read.


I TAG:

Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books

Lilly @ Lair of Books

Lauren @ Wonderless Review

Kate @ The Nerd Novelty

Pierina @ Pierina Reads

…. AND YOU


signature

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

Side Note: Only a week until my giveaway ends. Check here for details.

39 thoughts on “The Netgalley Book Tag

  1. Thanks for the tag! I completely forgot Donna tagged me for this ages ago. Ever since my pingbacks stopped working back in April I keep forgetting to do them. πŸ˜‚ Now I need to add it to my calendar. CoHo is also my auto-buy author. ❀️ Ha! I love the name for your new blog. I’m such a procrastinator. Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! πŸ’•
      I think mine have been out of whack lately because half the time I don’t know if I’ve been tagged unless I see the post in the Reader.
      YES! CoHo is amazing. πŸ™ŒπŸ»
      If I wasn’t so attached to my current blog name I would so change it to that haha.
      In other news, I’m pretty sure I’m back in spam jail and I want to cry. 😭

      Liked by 1 person

      • Me either! And I feel like there have been times where I’ve completely missed a tag and never saw it which makes me feel bad.
        I’m definitely spam jailed on all blogs except the ones I comment on frequently. Akismet has it out for me! πŸ˜£πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I know. I feel bad about missing tags and I know I miss them all the time. I keep forgetting to do them because I don’t get the notifications. Sometimes a friend says to me oh are you going to do that tag and I’m like what tag? πŸ˜‚ That sucks! I can’t believe you’re back in spam jail. If you see that happen with my blog, send me a tweet, and I’ll rescue you from spam jail.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The weird thing is when I commented tonight all of my comments went through. I’m so confused lol. Yesterday and this morning I was spam jail central. Ahhhh WordPress glitches. πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ
        I’ll definitely let you know if any of mine for your blog get tossed into spam though.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh great answers for this tag Melissa! I really need to read a Colleen Hoover book, I have It Ends With Us on my to-read lit so I may just have to start with that one! But I’ve heard great things about it so I can’t wait to get started. And I’m the same with requesting, if a blurb sounds interesting then I will request the book, and if the cover is gorgeous and the blurb sounds interesting then it will go right to the top of my to-read list! πŸ˜€
    I have some ARCs I need to review but I think the next one due isn’t until November so I have a little time to get some other reading done!
    Also totally not surprised to see The Song Rising on here, are you still thinking of writing to the publisher to ask for an ARC, I’ll wish you luck if you are! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Beth!! 😊β™₯
      You should! I have a feeling you’re going to love her books, especially with how much you’ve loved Kasie West’s books. Someone once told me she’s like the YA CoHo. Whenever you do get around to It Ends With Us I can’t wait to see what you think. Same πŸ˜‚. I, surprisingly, don’t have any ARC reviews due until Jan. But I have three review books, one of which is due Oct 24th. I signed up for that SocialBookCo reviewer program and they sent me a copy of P.S. I Like You and I’m really excited to read it πŸ˜ƒ.
      Yes, TSR πŸ™ˆ. I was actually waiting to hear back on the other three ARC request emails I sent out to other publishers before I did but I never heard back. It’s been nearly two weeks now so I’m doubting I will. Kind of a kick to my email requesting confidence haha. I might still do it though but maybe re-approach how I write my request. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • She’s on my to-read list, and I’m hoping to get around to at least one of her books before the end of the year. And hey I’m always looking for new contemporary authors to discover, and if you say I should like her because I liked Kasie West’s books that is high praise! πŸ˜€ I think It Ends With Us will be the first one I pick up and I will definitely let you know what i think when I am finished.
        Ohh, I only have one due for November and one due for January. I’ve requested another which won’t be due until February so long ways to go for all three pretty much. Sounds like you have a lot of exciting things going on, and I really hope you enjoy P.S. I Like You as well.
        I’ll keep my fingers crossed you hear something soon, if not then keep requesting, maybe you just haven’t found the right publisher for your blog yet. But if not I guess rewriting your letter could help as well! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Given that I haven’t yet read Kasie West’s books I can’t be 100% in that comparison. But it was told to me by someone who has read both author’s books and loves them both so. 😊
        Either way I really do hope you end up enjoying CoHo’s books.
        I hope so too! I’m planning on starting it tomorrow once I submit my English final.
        Thank you! β™₯
        Maybe. I also know publishers are super busy and probably get a ton of emails so I don’t blame them for not getting around to mine. I’m definitely going to try a different approach though. Maybe my emails are just a tad too long? Who knows. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the opposite, I haven’t read any of Colleen Hoover’s books so I can’t say from my POV either. But once I’ve read It Ends With Us I’ll be sure to let you know what I think in terms of author comparison! πŸ™‚
        I hope so too! πŸ˜€
        Ohh good luck with you English final as well!
        Yeah there’s that as well, was there something on the publishing houses website that told you how long you should normally have to wait to hear back from them?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can’t wait to hear what you think about it! 😊
        Thank you!
        Nope. I don’t think they say. I’ve heard some hear back asap, I know someone on twitter who heard back within hours, and some don’t hear back at all. I guess it depends.
        Also, did you know that Wintersong is available for request on NetGalley? I know that was one of your WoW posts. I requested it but got denied. I’m starting to think St. Martins Press doesn’t like me because any time I request a book from them on there it’s an automatic denial πŸ˜‚. Either way, if you have requested it or do I hope you get approved! I can’t wait to see what someone thinks of that book because I’m really excited for it. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll be sure to post a review as soon as I’m finished then! πŸ˜€
        That’s all right.
        I guess it does. Hopefully eventually you’ll hear something back. I wonder if it’s just the people you emailed, maybe they take more time to get back to people regarding ARCs, either way definitely keep requesting, eventually you’ll get something.
        I didn’t know that, I’ll be sure to check it out because yeah it was one of my WoW posts a little while back. Oh that’s a shame, I wonder why some publishers decline people. Honestly I haven’t noticed a pattern with my declines, it just seems to be certain books but I get a few good ARCs so I’m more than happy with that! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope so too! It might have been but yeah either way I’ll just keep requesting ARCs.
        I’ve only noticed it with St. Martins Press and Atria. They seem to be a bit picker than most. Not sure about what specifically but I’ve yet to be approved by either. I get a few good ARCs too so I’m happy with that as well but let me tell you the day I get approved by either of those publishers I’ll be extremely happy. πŸ˜‚ *throws virtual party*
        I haven’t really been requesting much lately besides the emailed ones I sent a few weeks ago to be honest because I don’t want to go overboard again haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve got to get some of my ARC review read and written before I can request any more. I feel my request/review rating is way down at the moment but most of them aren’t due until next year so it’s not as if Im putting them off, I just have other books on my to-read list first.
        I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get an approval rating from them soon!
        I only tend to request an ARC if it’s a book I feel like I’m going to enjoy, it doesn’t always work out that way but yeah I don’t want to go overboard either. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I feel the same way! I only have three ARCs at the moment and all of them aren’t due until next year either but I really want to get my ratio up on NetGalley before I request anymore. Though I do have some that have been pending for a while as well. πŸ™ˆ
        I try to do that now. I think when I first started with NetGalley the excitement of getting eARCS translated into requesting too much. πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have four, one I’m going to read and review Monday hopefully but the rest aren’t really due until end of this year/next year so I have more time. Either way it doesn’t show that on your ratio, that the books you have left aren’t due for a while, so it just looks like you’re behind on the reading/reviewing part. πŸ™‚
        I don’t know if I ever did that. I know myself and that I am very bad with deadlines so I try to keep my ARC requesting at a manageable level just so I know that I’m not going to get too behind on them all. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • I wish it did show that on your ratio. There should be an extra part or something that takes into account when the book is to be published. 😊
        I think my problem was the fact that none of them were published until October and I was like “That’s forever away!” and I didn’t take into account that I wouldn’t be able to post reviews until closer to the release date lol. I’m thinking about reading ahead of time, an ARC a month when I have them, and scheduling reviews just so I don’t ever find myself in that position again. πŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly, it’s not like you’re just leaving these books or putting them off, just that they don’t have to be written for a while yet. Exactly, there’s no point in reviewing a book that’s not out until next year yet, it’s way too soon isn’t it.
        I’m trying to read ahead of time and draft my reviews, I’m actually trying to get on top of my posts and keep some drafts in my folder, not just for ARCs but weekly tags and other tags and awards as well! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yep! Plus there’s the whole fact that most publishers don’t want a review posted until 30 days or less before the release date.
        I need to start doing that! I did drafting posts ahead of time once when I knew I was going to be busy for a week but it took hours. I’m slow when it comes to writing posts so scheduling ahead takes forever for me which is probably why I don’t do it often. πŸ˜‚
        I want to though. I need to get myself more organized lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yep, and even if it’s not mentioned I do try and stick to two weeks before the release max before posting an ARC review.
        I think once you get one or two saved as drafts it’s easy to have more because on days you do post you have a post in your drafts folder ready to go and you can work on something else instead. At least that’s what I’ve done, and I get a few drafted on the weekends as well!
        The fact that I am this organised on my blog that I have drafts is very much an anomaly actually but I’m not gonna question it too much! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • True. I had so many drafted Waiting on Wednesday posts at one point that it was so easy to just press post. It’s finding the time to actually sit down and schedule that I have problems with. Hopefully I can get a bit more organized eventually. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been slacking a little this week because work has been so stressful and I have posts in my draft folder ready to go. Honestly it’s normally the weekends when I’m able to catch up on posts and become more organised, and yeah it can be such a weight off as well to have drafts pretty much ready to go! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no. I hope work gets less stressful for you!
        I think I actually slack more on the weekends because its when I don’t have to worry about school and just want to do nothing but read. πŸ˜‚
        I think I’m going to start dedicating a few hours to post drafting for the week though. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same here, and it wasn’t too bad today so it gives me hope for tomorrow as well! πŸ™‚
        Weekends for me are hit and miss, sometimes I’m super productive but other times I’m so lazy it feels like I don’t get any blogging done. Either way it’s nice to have nothing but reading to worry about on the weekends!
        And that’s good, that’s what I try and do as well! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

