Blogiversary Q&A | Part 1

partone

I’m posting this a little later than I had hoped to post it but it took a while to draft, edit and realize I would need to split it into two parts. I also ended up having a giant movie marathon this weekend so instead of doing what I should have been doing I was watching movies. Oops. But it’s finally here! Part one of my blogiversaryΒ Q&A. Thank you so much to everyone who asked me questions, I loved answering them.

Also, if you haven’t yet, be sure to check out the giveaway I’m hosting here. You could win an autographed book or even a few books of your choice.


Blissful Life Project‘s Questions:

When did you start writing your blog?

In March 😊

What is your all-time favourite book?

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson! It’s such an incredible book about grief and how to learn to live with it and have the strength to move on from it. It’s also a lot about family and growing up. (I recommend it to everyone by the way.)

What is the last book you read?

Well, I’m currently reading Lost Stars by Lisa Selin Davis but before that, I was reading The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch.

How many books are on your reading challenge for this year?

I hope to read 95 but at this moment I’m only 60/95 and 7 books behind. I didn’t read a lot at the beginning of the year. πŸ™ˆ

Where are you from?

Texas! The state that has horrifically hot summers and even though it’s almost officially autumn we’re still in perpetual summer with 82-96 degree weather. *wishes for cooler weather*

How old are you?

22 *sings Taylor Swift song*

Do you have any pets?

I have three cats (Patch, Tiger, Smokey – very original names I know.), a dog (Her name is Rowan and she was actually named after a character from The Iron Fey books. I didn’t like the character but I loved the name. πŸ˜‚), and a Hedgehog. (Who is named after Luna from Harry Potter.) Oh and I also have a little Betta fish who is named after Galileo. What can I say, I like animals.

What do you study?

I’m studying English and Creative Writing with a concentration in Fiction Writing.

How many books do you own?

I think around 200+ at the moment. I can’t remember an exact number.

What was the last book you bought?

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. Which I haven’t read because I still have to read the rest of the series but I’m preparing for some binge reading.

What was the last book someone gave you as a gift?

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

What are your blog plans for the future?

To get to the point where I can upgrade to self-hosted. I plan on doing this blog for a long time because I love chatting with everyone on here and talking about books. Beyond that, I’m just taking it a day at a time.

Where do you see yourself in few years?

Hopefully moved out and living on my own. That’s my next big life goal! I know I won’t be graduated from college by then as I just started a few months ago but I’m nearly 23 and still living at home while most of my friends are moving out.

Do you plan your blog posts ahead?

Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. But more often than not I don’t. I know that’s terrible organizational skills on my part but I like being a spontaneous poster. It works for me!


Jill @ Rant And Rave About Books‘ Questions:

As a writer, have you ever thought of writing a story based on your life? If not, what title would you give a story about your life if someone were to write it for you?

I have not. Personally, I think my life is incredibly boring. (Doesn’t everyone?) I go to school online, I work online, I’m at home a lot. So, when I write I want to write these grand fantasy adventures in far away places. Also, probably why I’m very much attached to the fantasy genre. If someone were to write a story based on my life though I would probably title it ‘The Girl Who Rarely Leaves Her Room’. That’s a long title but I feel like it could work. πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ

What fictional character(s) accurately fits your personality. (Mine is Holly Golightly and Katniss EverdeenπŸ˜‰)

I always have to go with Cath from Fangirl when I’m asked this. There are so many characters out there who I’ve related to certain parts of their personality but there has never been a character who fits my personality as well as Cath does. In Fangirl, she struggles socially and prefers the written word and fictional worlds to people because it’s her safe place and where she is able to be herself. She also really cares about her family and is more comfortable and outspoken around them. And she doesn’t react well to big changes. All of that is me in a nutshell. If I had been able to afford to go to a physical college I could see myself going through a similar journey. I can still see myself going through a similar journey in the future, without Β college. I don’t relate to any of the aspects of her life family wise, but her personality alone is one that I heavily relate to. That’s why I love Fangirl so much because no character embodies me as much as her. Each time I read Fangirl it reminds me that change isn’t always such a bad thing and that if Cath can figure things out then I can.

If you were a contestant in The Hunger Games, what would be your first instinct and how would you survive? Would you be declared the victor?

I would love to think that I would be incredibly smart, outmaneuver all of the other contestants, and survive by playing the game Foxface did except without the whole eating poisonous berries thing. Except, I know that would never happen. My first instinct would be to run far away from the Cornucopia, much like Katniss, except where she got the bows and arrows and knew how to hunt I don’t and wouldn’t. I’d run and run and run and then probably die, be it from dehydration or another contestant. I would never win The Hunger Games and I know it. πŸ˜‚

If you awoke inside the box from The Mazer Runner, what would be your first instinct when the Gladers opened it?

I think the whole waking up inside the box in The Maze Runner is a really disorienting experience. I feel like waking up in a strange place without any memories as to how I got there and having these people peering down at me that I don’t know would cause me to freak out. I’d probably react much like Thomas did and try to make a run for it.

If you could choose the winner of the Game of Thrones, which character that’s currently alive would you choose?

*POSSIBLE GAME OF THRONES SPOILERS COMING*

(I’ve only watched the tv show as I’m waiting for the last book to pick up the books.)

I had a conversation about this with my best friend a few weeks back when we were talking out Game of Thrones theories for next season. I’m always in a toss up over Dany and Jon. Also, I ship them. Yes, I’m that weird show shipper who sometimes sticks two characters who have never even met together for a ‘fantasy ship’. This was before I even knew about the possible relation between them but let’s be honest this is Game of Thrones where being related doesn’t seem to matter half of the time. So, I had this whole theory about the Iron Throne being gone and Dany and Jon ruling Westeros together. (My best friend thinks they should melt that sucker, the Iron Throne, down after everything is over.) However, I’m also all for Dany ruling Westeros by herself too because she so doesn’t need a man and could be a badass ruler all on her own. But Jon could also be a great ruler, he’s a great guy. Alas, you see my problem! πŸ™ˆ


Beth @ Reading Every Night‘s Questions:

If you could have any of your most anticipated releases in your hands right now what one would you pick?

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon! I bet you saw that one coming, Beth πŸ˜‚. I want that book so bad. It’s been over two years at this point and I’m in that I need it now phase. If I had it in my hands right now I would probably read and not stop for anything.

What has been your best/proudest moment as a blogger?

This is a tad silly because I know stats don’t matter, I try not to even pay attention to mine unless I’m updating my NetGalley profile. However, way back when I first started this most of my posts didn’t get more than a few likes and more often than not no comments. So, when I posted my Red Queen recommendation/review and it suddenly had 20+ likes and a ton of comments I was so proud of myself and extremely happy. I thought in that moment, “Wow, Melissa, you’re actually a blogger and people like what you have to say.” I was really proud.

How do you manage blogging alongside your outside life?

By reminding myself that it can wait. I put a lot of time into this blog but if I’m busy and can’t make it on one day because of work or school or life in general then I remind myself that blogging will still be there tomorrow or in a few hours. I also spend a lot of sleepless nights on here since school and work take up a lot of my time, I’ve been staying up until 2 am blogging more often than not lately. But it’s worth it!

If you could travel anywhere in this world, or a fictional world, where would you choose to go?

I’m going to choose a fictional world for this because I’ve been thinking about this one fictionalΒ world a lot lately. That fictional world is PrythianΒ specifically the city of Valaris from A Court of Mist and Fury. The way Sarah J. Maas described it and just everything about it makes me feel like if it were a real place I would love it and never want to leave. I have extreme wanderlust for that place.

If you could meet one character face to face who would you pick?

Just one!? This is going to be tough. Since I’m on a role with thinking about ACOMAF I’m choosing a character from there that I would love to meet and that character is Azriel. I feel like I would get along with him because we’re both quiet types and he’s one of my favorites.


If you don’t see your questions above they will be in part two of my Q&A, which will be posted later tonight or tomorrow afternoon. 😊

Also, If you don’t already follow them then be sure to check out each of the lovely blogs that belong to the above bloggers.Β 

signature

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

23 thoughts on “Blogiversary Q&A | Part 1

  1. Ohh great answers for these questions. Yep I definitely saw The Song Rising coming, and I cannot say I was surprised at all. It would probably be my pick for that question as well. I’d do anything to get an early copy of that book in my hands right this second!
    I don’t think your proudest moment is at all silly, I think something that like would be my proudest moment as well, as much as stats don’t matter it’s always nice to see them go up isn’t there.
    Ohh Valaris would be an amazing place to visit wouldn’t it…If only! πŸ˜€
    Great answers, I can’t wait for part two now! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knew you would πŸ˜‚. Yes! If only I could make an early copy magically appear for the both of us. I swear the second I get my hands on that book when it’s released I’m going to devour it and then cry over the wait for the next book. Even though at this point I’m a little terrified over the possibilities on how the fourth book is going to end lol.
      It really is! I try not to stress about stats but during the beginning it was a bit disheartening so that was a great moment. 😊
      I know right!? If only we had the ability to jump into books.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hopefully it will appear on NetGalley at some point! I am keeping my fingers tightly crossed it does, and I will be checking regularly just in case as well. πŸ™‚ The Song Rising is going to give me a major book hangover, and then I’m going to have to wait until the next one is released as well. Oh the thought of the fourth book terrifies me a little just because now I know everything is going to change.
        Oh yeah your stats tend to improve as your followers do but it’s always kind of lacklustre in the beginning, it’s just great to see them jump a fair bit! πŸ˜€
        I’d kill for that ability! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope so too and I’ll be doing the same! I have a feeling TSR is going to send me into book hangover mode too. I’ve been in small book hangovers because of certain books this year but I think that one is going to be a major one where all I’m going to want to do afterwards is reread all three of them πŸ˜‚.
        It really is and I would too! πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a good idea! I might have to do that as well. I have several lighter contemporaries both YA and NA that I’ve been wanting to read but I might spread them out a bit and use them for after the next Cassandra Clare book and both ACOTAR and TSR because I feel like all three of those are going to put me in book hangover mode. πŸ˜‚

        I’ll probably do that too. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s something I’m going to need to start doing with all the major fantasy books I can’t wait for; the last ACOTAR books, the last ToG book, TSR, pretty much every other fantasy book on my TBR list! Just means I need to start adding more contemporaries to my TBR list as well! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your answers to my questions! Haha! The Girl Who Rarely Leaves Her Room. Lol. I’d be The Girl Who Rarely Leaves Her House. πŸ™‚ I’m such a homebody and up until today, I worked from home for years. I’m moving to Florida next weekend, so I will get to see what it’s like to be dying from the heat year round. πŸ˜‚ On the plus side, my dad had a pool heater installed so I can go in the pool in the winter. πŸ™‚ I’m so with you on shipping Jon and Dany. Yes! If they weren’t possibly related, I could totally see them together and have Tyrion as the hand. That would be an awesome conclusion. πŸ™‚ They’re my three favorite characters. I think I’d be right there with you on the maze. I’d run like hell. And I bet I’d run for THG and not have a clue where to find water. Katniss had such good survival skills. I’d be like wait there’s no Aquafina or Poland Springs. Lol πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank youβ™₯!! I had so much fun answering them. They were my favorite question. 😊

      Lol we should so make that duology about two different characters. Soon to be released, The Girl Who Rarely Leaves Her Room the story of a girl who spends her days working and her nights as a blogger and it’s sequel set for next year The Girl Who Rarely Leaves Her House, details coming soon πŸ˜‚. I’m the same, though, I prefer being at home more than not. That’s exciting πŸ˜ƒ! I actually think Florida heat can be worse than Texas because they get even more humidity than us. That’s what kills, the humidity. Without that, it wouldn’t be so bad. It makes me want to live up north though because I wish we got more of an autumn than we do. I’m jealous of that pool with a heater though because that is going to be amazing! YAY! I don’t know anyone else who ships them πŸ˜ƒ. (I know a ton of people probably do but I’ve never talked to them.) Exacty and Tyrion would definitely have to be hand! That is my dream ending right there. Same! Them three along with Arya and Sansa. I also love Ghost, he’s a wolf but he’s still one of my favorites πŸ˜‚. Yes! I feel like those would be my exact thoughts as well, I rely too much on bottled water. Katniss made me realize my lack of survival skills and how if it came down to the world turning all dystopia-esque on me I’d most likely die lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! I’m glad they were your favorite. I tried not to make them dull. 😜 Ha! Yeah, we could have our own little series about people who like to stay home. πŸ™‚ LOL Florida heat is so gross. I’m looking at it as a few years max for me. Then I’ll move to wherever my next job takes me. I’m going rogue for now on. 😎 Autumn is bad for my allergies. It’s already hitting me right now, so I’m counting down the days until I’m out of here. πŸ™‚ I totally ship Jon and Dany. Too bad they’re maybe related. That was an amazing finale. I’ve watched it twice again this week alone. πŸ™ˆ Katniss makes me look like a fool. I wouldn’t last in the woods alone. I’d be afraid to eat or drink anything and die of dehydration. πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I bet a lot of people would even related to them πŸ€”πŸ˜‚. What’s your job? I think it’s awesome that you get to change states a lot. I’ve always wanted a job that includes travel. Even though moving can be a pain lol. That sucks 😫. For me, summer is when my allergies are bad so autumn and winter are a reprieve from them. I know right? *secretly hopes they aren’t* πŸ˜‚ though at this point it’s looking like they really are. It really was! It’s one of the best finales I’ve ever seen for a TV show. I can’t wait to see what next season brings! Same πŸ˜‚.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am a systems analyst, but I actually just quit my job this week so I can move to Florida. I’ve lived in different parts of Pennsylvania, Southern California, and now Florida, none of which were job related. I’m sort of like a wanderer. I told my mom I’m going rogue. πŸ™‚ My parents moved to Florida a few years ago, and I broke off my engagement, so I thought hey, why not move there? LOL I’m like the wind. πŸ™‚ I have horrible all year allergies. That’s also the reason I want to move to Florida. After one week, I all of a sudden felt better. Now I’m back in PA, and I’m dying from the weather. I heard there’s a delay for the next season of GoT. 😦 It won’t be out in April.

        Like

      • Oh okay! That’s still awesome! My dream life is live in a lot of different states or even countries so 😊. If I could I’d be a wanderer too. It’s got to be fun seeing what it’s like living in different places. Oh no that sucks 😞. But at least you’ll be back in Florida soon and feeling a reprieve from your allergies! Awwww. No! They’re delaying GoT!? I didn’t know that. Do they have a new date for when it’ll be out? The wait is going to be torture 😫.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would love to live in England. That’s always been one country on my list. Maybe someday. And Italy. That also looks awesome. πŸ™‚ Yeah, I heard they couldn’t find enough places with snow to film the next season, which is delaying the next season. I’m so annoyed because that finale was sooo good!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same! England and Ireland. I also wouldn’t mind spending time in Prague. I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately because I’ve seen so many people start reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone πŸ˜‚. Italy would be amazing too though. I’ve always wanted to visit just to see the beautiful architecture. Europe is a gorgeous place in general. But yeah maybe someday! Awww that sucks :(. Yes! It’s like, leave us hanging for longer why don’t you? They way it ended was fantastic and now I just want to see Dany in Westeros kicking butt!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome! I bet that’s going to be an incredible trip. πŸ˜ƒ
        Booooo! I don’t want it to be delayed. But at the same time I want it to be an amazing series so if the delay means they’re trying to get things perfect then it might be worth it lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

