REVIEW: Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

persephonereview


15724908

Title: Persephone (Daughters of Zeus #1)
Author: Kaitlin Bevis
Publisher: BelleBooks Publishing
Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Mythology
Format: Library eBook

Synopsis(source):

“One day Persephone is an ordinary high school junior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.”

3STARRATINGBNM

 


“The ancient Greeks and Romans didn’t know why the season changed, so they came up with this myth to explain it.” 

I’m a huge fan of books that deal with Greek Mythology and an even bigger fan of books that are Persephone and Hades retellings. However, this particular retelling fell a little flat for me.

Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed the story as a whole but it didn’t wow me. The beginning of the book was really strong but over time it became predictable and certain aspects moved so fast that it disconnected me from the characters and plot.

There was no build up in the romance. They literally went from disliking each other to being “in love” in the span of a few short paragraphs and it threw me off. I’m not a fan of insta-love and I was anticipating more of a build up. Not to mention the fact that our main character is only sixteen and physically the main male, while way older since he is Hades, is said to be twenty-five. That aspect made the romance really odd.

I had problems with certain offhanded comments from our main female character about other females. Those comments made me not like her at times.

“I studied her, trying to see what had drawn Orpheus to this nondescript woman.”

“In the best of circumstances this woman would be called plain.”

This is turning into a review of what I didn’t like, and while I did have a lot of problems with this book there were things that I did like.

“If I can help someone, I will. I’m done watching people suffer.”

I loved how much Persephone cared for her mother and her best friend. She would literally do anything for them. I also really liked how even though she realized she wasn’t exactly human she held onto her humanity and empathy with both hands. She didn’t let it harden her heart or make her care for human struggles less. If anything it made her care more.

“Families think they know what’s best for you. Your friends let you figure that out for yourself.”

I really enjoyed all of the friendships. I always like a book more when there is a basis of strong friendships and that is one of the biggest things this book has going for it.

As previously stated, I’m a huge fan of Greek Mythology in books so that was a plus and the main reason I picked this up. I love how the author really wove in the myths and made them her own. While this book didn’t wow me and did become predictable it had a unique plot overall where Greek Mythology was concerned. Not to mention that I liked the writing – it was descriptive, flowing, and enthralling. The writing and mythology kept me reading when I felt like stopping.

At this point, I’m not sure if I will continue this series right now but I hope to one day. I’d like to know how everything pans out.

If you love Greek Mythology and Persephone and Hades retellings then take away what I liked about this book and give it a try for yourself. I may not have absolutely loved it but I recommend it for those who love the above things.


You can purchase this book on: Amazon, B&N, Book Depository, iBooks, Google Play, Kobo, or you can check it out at your local library!


signature

 

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

19 thoughts on “REVIEW: Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

  1. I read this book a while back and I did really enjoy it, but then I love the original myth of Hades and Persephone and I will read any retelling or reimagining I can get my hands on.
    I’m sorry this one fell a little flat for you, but I guess in this case you want something unique, something that’s going to really jump out at you, in stories that have already been retold more than a few times over.
    Great review though, and I hope if you do carry on with the series you enjoy the next books a little more! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the original myth too and will read any retelling of I can get my hands on. Which is another reason I read it. 😊

      But yeah, I was excepting something a bit more unique. There are so many great retellings out there and I guess you can really only retell a myth so many times. Although, there were some aspects that were unique in this. I really liked the whole Olympus fell plot and the stuff with Zeus. It gave enough intrigue that I do want to finish it in the future. I just have to get my hands on the other books.

      Thank you!! ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the same with anything Greek mythology related but the story of Hades and Persephone is my favourite.
        Oh I completely get where you’re coming from, I think the Hades and Persephone story is a popular one for retellings so it’s got some tough competition hasn’t it. I think overall it’s a good series, and if you carry on with it I think you’ll enjoy the other books as well! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Definitely! I’ll have to get my hands on the other books soon. I need to see if my library has them. 😊

        Have you ever read Awaken by Meg Cabot? That’s my favorite Hades and Persephone retelling. It’s more of a loose retelling but it has all of the basics of the story. It’s really unique and I loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm, well her other series are good. I’d say the Mediator books are her favourites of mine!
        Persephone and Awaken are the only two that are straight up retellings but there are other books that are more inspired by the original myth, like A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas, that has Hades and Persephone influences.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Argh, women putting other women down always angers me.. I have to say that retellings of greek mythology is always fun and I’m always amazed by how the authors are able to come up with new content and ideas… Too bad this book fell flat for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same! It’s also one my book pet peeves. I can’t stand seeing it in real life much less YA.

      I am too! Have you ever read Awaken by Meg Cabot. That one is a really unique Hades and Persephone retelling and probably one of my favorite greek mythology books.

      Yeah, I just think my expectations were too high.

      Like

  3. Great review! I usually hate insta-love, but for some reason I can look past it when the book is retelling the myth of Hades and Persephone. I honestly don’t know why that is…perhaps because I already adore them and don’t mind them caring about each other immediately? Or something, I honestly don’t know! XD I’m really looking forward to reading this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

