That’s A Wrap! Reading, Reviews, and What’s Ahead //July-August

THATSAWRAPJULY.png

It’s almost August! Fall is so close, yet so far away. *counts down the days*


julyflashbackgiphy13

I had an incredible reading month, blogging month not so much. I got a tad busy with school and I hit something that I’m going to call a reviewing slump (Maybe reviewer writers block?). I finished the Sweet Evil trilogy and then read Been Here All Along so I could have a review drafted for August, but then when I finished The Syrena Legacy trilogy I couldn’t find a single thing to say to review it. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the series but my mind went blank when I sat down to review it. Here’s to hoping that was a one time thing and all of the amazing August releases pull me out of whatever reviewing funk I’m in!

-Read + Reviewed-

julyreadandreviewed

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins [REVIEW]

4STARRATINGBNM(4/5)

Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins [REVIEW]
4STARRATINGBNM(4/5)

Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins [REVIEW]

5STARRATINGBNM(5/5)

Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall [**REVIEW TO COME**]

4STARRATINGBNM(4/5)

-Read But Didn’t Review-

julyreadbutdidntreview

24039422

Of Poseidon, Of Triton, and Of Neptune (The Syrena Legacy) by Anna Banks 4STARRATINGBNM(4/5)

Ah, the series I had trouble reviewing. Overall it was a pretty great, I enjoyed it. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves mythology and mermaids. This was my first experience with a mermaid type book and I was pleasantly surprised. I had a few minor problems with the pacing and how I felt that everything was revealed too soon, but other than that it was a great read!

Sweet Temptation by Wendy Higgins

5STARRATINGBNM(5/5)

I didn’t review this because of the fact that it is just Kai’s POV of all of the Sweet Evil books and I reviewed all of them. However, I loved it and it was neat getting to read Kai’s POV.

-Reread-

julyreread

Here is where I wish rereads counted toward your Goodreads reading goal. If they did I would have surpassed mine already.

So apparently I read 16 books in July. SIXTEEN. I might be in minor shock over the fact that I read that many books. Most of them were rereads but still I think I can say I had a great reading month.

-Favorite Read-

I’m going to have to go with Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall. That book was one of my most anticipated reads and I somehow got lucky enough to get approved for an eARC through NetGalley. I was over the moon! It was so cute and everything I had hoped. I can’t wait to share my review with all of you in August!

tumblr_mjbwqdvutk1rz2nelo1_250

-Favorite Post-

The Beauty & The Beast Book Tag!! I had so much fun with it and I love Beauty and the Beast. Best tag ever, okay.

giphy5

-Haul-

I’ve been buying more eBooks since I got my Kindle. They’re usually cheaper and I’ve been trying to cut back on my book buying in general. I was on a complete book buying ban but that only lasted a month. I blame all of the amazing books being released that I can’t help but splurge on, and my impaitence at waiting in line for books from the library. I also really like reading eBooks just for the ease of highlighting and note taking for reviews. (Even though eventually I end up buying phyiscal copies too for my shelves. 🙈) This month my haul is a combination of books I bought and books I received for reviewing and/or through giveaways!

11111aaaa.png

281862731

Bought

Received


augustfastforward

Can you believe it’s almost August!? This year is going by so fast. It feels like just yesterday it was New Years.

Anyway, I actually have a TBR for August. I thought I would go into this month doing something similar to last month, but then I realized a lot of books I want to read are releasing this month.

1augusttbr-side.png

I didn’t get around to Torn or Last Seen Leaving in July, but I plan on getting around to Torn this month. And while Last Seen Leaving isn’t on my immediate TBR I’m hoping to get it read in August too along with a few other eARCs.

That aside, I can’t wait for It Ends With Us and NevernightAnyone else really excited for those two!?

Speaking of It Ends With Us, who else is going to a Colleen Hoover signing in August? 😄

I am so excited! It’s going to be my first ever author signing and you guys know how much I love Colleen. I’m also the worst conversationalist. I’m a really quiet person in real life who never knows what to say to people she has never met before. We’ll see how that works out with meeting your favorite author. I’m a tad bit nervous.


monthlythoughts

I survived my first college class! Do I get a reward? 🙈 *buys books as a reward*

This month was crazy but it was also pretty great. I didn’t get to blog as much as I wanted, but I read sixteen books which I’d say makes July a successful month either way. Anytime I can read more than three books in a month makes it a great month, for me. I also got new bookshelves and won a book for the first time ever from Goodreads. Besides bookish things school and work kept me busy. So, that about sums up my July! 😊

Going into August, I’ll be on a break from school for two weeks until my first writing class starts. And I’m going to stuff as much blogging and reviewing as I can into those two weeks! I have some major catching up to do tag and award wise too.

im-ready-lets-do-this-reaction-gif

I hope all of you had a great July too and have an even better August! ❤️


What books did you read this month? What was your favorite?

Did you have a good blogging month or just a good month in general?

What do you plan on reading in August? 

-Melissa

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

32 thoughts on “That’s A Wrap! Reading, Reviews, and What’s Ahead //July-August

  1. Hi! I really liked the format of this post. It’s really well done!
    16 books, that’s amazing! Congrats 🙂
    My favorite read this month is Milk and honey (it’s an amazing poetry collection).
    I suck at sticking to TBRs. I don’t make them anymore but I do plan to read It ends with us. Hopefully before the hype gets out of control.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😊

      I’m terrible at sticking them too. It’s been a while since I made and stuck to one, but with this month I couldn’t stop myself because I know I’ll read those. (Hopefully 😂)

      I hope you enjoy It Ends With Us whenever you read it! Happy reading to you too! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you got through so many books this month. I’m a little jealous because in comparision I think I read half what you did! Also I know what you mean about wishing re-reads counted to your Goodreads goal. My friend and I had a massive rant about this a while ago because technically you’re still reading a book even if you’ve read it before, it should count towards your goal!
    Also a great haul as well! I hope you enjoy Nevernight, I really loved the story so I hope you do as well, granted there are already some mixed reviews but I think you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it was because so many of them were rereads. I usually reread quicker than when I’m reading a book for the first time. I almost always only manage around three or four books.

      Exactly! Goodreads needs a reread button and it needs to count toward our reading goals.

      I think I’ve read more good reviews than bad and everything I’ve read about it so far has made me think I’m really going to love it. Someone even likened the whole assassin training aspect to how Dauntless in Divergent was which is one of the things I enjoyed about that series. I can’t wait to read it! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • I definitely need to do some re-reads soon. I’ve put myself on a book buying ban so I’ll have to start reading the books already on my shelves.
        There’s got to be a way they can add a re-read button!
        Hmm, I didn’t really make that connection between the assassins and the Divergent but yeah looking back I can see the similarities! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve put myself on a book buying ban too. In fact I’ve been heavily utilizing my libraries ebook option lately lol. I’m not letting myself buy anything this month besides It Ends With Us and Nevernight and that’s only because they were preorders.

        Exactly! Goodreads needs a suggestion option so people can submit that idea. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll just stick to books I already own most likely, I have enough to post reviews based on re-reads and even books I haven’t got around to get on my shelves for a while yet! Well yeah, pre orders are different aren’t they? Especially if it’s books you’ve been waiting ages for!
        You’d have a load of people submit that idea I reckon! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have so many on my shelves that I haven’t read yet too. My physical TBR shelf has definitely gotten out of hand. Another reason for my book buying ban xD.

        Yep! I rarely do preorders but when I do it’s because it’s a book I really want. Like TSR. Once it gets closer to the release date I plan on preordering it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • My non-physical TBR pile is huge too. 600+ books at the moment and growing every day. 😂

        Lol now that I’m using Amazon I have the worst urge to do that. But then I’m like “What’s gonna happen if you don’t have money when all these books release?” 😂. So I’m making myself wait when it comes to preordering.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, I have no clue how many mine is, I haven’t really written it down anywhere it’s more of a general idea, but it’s definitely growing!
        I do keep note of what pre-orders I have, but for a lot of them I use my credit card so until I pay it back the money isn’t technically mine you know! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I only know because of Goodreads and my obsessive need to add books to my TBR on there. 😂

        If only my credit card wasn’t full of vet bills at the moment I’d so do that. One day when I get it paid down! I get what you mean though. I used mine to buy books all the time at first lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh, I imagine if I had a Goodreads I’d be the same, as it is at the moment creating a Goodreads profile is on my to-do list, I guess after that I’ll have a decent idea of the amount on my to-read list!
        I am trying to be responcible with my credit card, but I do buy a few books here and there, I just can’t resist! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Whenever you get around to making one link me so I can friend you on there! 😊

        Books, the ultimate weakness to bookworm’s credit cards!

        Books: Buy me. You know you want to!
        Credit Card: That might be a bad idea…
        Bookworm: *buys books*
        😂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 16 books is a lot, so congratulations for that! And I’m glad to hear that you liked Been Here All Along – I’ve been eyeing it but Sandy Hall and me don’t get along from past experiences, so I’m kind of treading very carefully. Hopefully if/when I get to it, I like it as much as you have. 😛

    I went to the Nevernight signing in Melbourne and I can’t wait to read that book too! I’m just holding off until I finish reading all my review copies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was pretty great! Especially if you’re looking for something lighter to read, which I was when I picked it up. (Though I could be biased because I’ve liked Sandy Hall’s other books 🙈.) I hope you end up enjoying it too! 😀

      Lucky! *wishes there had been a signing here* I bet that was amazing and so much fun! I’m so excited for it, but I’m with you on review books. I’ll probably have to hold off on it for a few that I have to have reviewed before September.

      Like

  4. I totally feel you on the review slump. You had such a great reading month though!! 16 books is amazing. I really want to read The Scorpio Races. I’m also interested in Been Here All Along and I can’t wait to read Nevernight! Congrats on surviving your first college class too ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s only because I reread books really quickly 🙈😂.

      The Scorpio Races is so good! Especially if love horses and mythology. It’s kind of wrapped around the myth of water horses. It’s really interesting. I hope you enjoy it whenever you get around to it! And Been Here All Along is completely adorable and amazing. 😊

      And yes! *counts down the days to Nevernight*

      Thank you! ❤️

      Like

    • It’s a really good series! I hope you enjoy it whenever you get around to it. Since you love mermaids I’m betting you’ll like it. 🙂

      I love The Infernal Devices! That series is one of my top favorites. I’m glad you’re enjoying it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • The covers are pretty eh but the books themselves are incredible. The whole world is built so well and the characters are amazing. If you ever want to give them a chance one day I highly recommend them. You could always check them out at the library. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

