Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

midyearbookfreakout

I was tagged by the lovely Gretchen @ chicnerdreads to do this tag and I’m really excited because I’ve actually been dying to do it haha. Thank you again, Gretchen!! If you don’t already follow her then go check out her blog because it’s awesome and so is she! 😄


Best Book You’ve Read So Far In 2016

25494343

Lady Midnight was my most anticipated read for 2016, especially after City of Heavenly Fire! Honestly, I love anything Cassandra Clare writes and the whole Shadowhunters’ world is my favorite book world. Lady Midnight was incredible and I loved it. Also THAT ENDING! Seriously, I can’t wait until the next book is released!


Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far In 2016

17927395

Of course, I’m picking A Court of Mist and Fury for this! This book was incredible. It was amazing. It was perfect! I’m still not over it and all I ever want to do is reread it. I also want it to be next May because I want the third book in my hands now.


New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

23677341

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson. It’s not a new, new release since it’s been out since January but I really want to read it at some point.


Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

27362503

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover, hands down! I am so excited for this book and a little nervous. Everyone has said it’s a read the requires tissues, so I’m preparing to cry my eyes out. I love all of her books though and she’s an incredible author. I really can’t wait!


Biggest Disappointment

18460392

So many people love this book. I think it’s one of those books you either really like or really don’t. I’m on the side that didn’t like it. I had such high hopes for it but ultimately it wasn’t for me. I was really disappointed because I had hoped I would like it. 


Biggest Surprise

6644117

This book sat on my TBR for years. I never picked it up because I wasn’t sure if I would like it, but then B&N had this sale and I was like “Why not?” and I bought it. I loved it. This book kick-started my fantasy binge reading this year. And it eventually led to me reading ACOTAR and ACOMAF. It is such an amazing book and like I said I love it. Seriously, if you’ve thought about reading this but haven’t then do it. You won’t regret it!


Favourite New Author (Debut or New To You)

1favoritesokay.png

Sarah J. Maas

Wendy Higgins

Marie Rutkoski


Newest Fictional Crush

I bet you can guess before I even say it….

RHYSAND! 🙈

giphy3


Newest Favourite Character

I’m in a toss-up between Kestral and Feyre… They’re both amazing! I can’t decide.

giphy4


Book That Made You Cry

15507958

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes! That book made me sob. I haven’t read a lot of books that have made me cry this year, but this one takes the top spot. And don’t even get me started on how much I cried while watching the movie!


Book That Made You Happy

160078551

Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins! It was the best series ending book and I loved it so much! I’ve actually been rereading parts of it. IT WAS SO PERFECT OKAY!


Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

tumblr_o4acxnezvi1uzomqmo1_500

Definitely Me Before You! It was a great adaptation, pretty much flawless.


Favorite Post You Have Done This Year

Probably my Book Thoughts: Quotes & Reading post. It was back when I first started blogging and I had a lot of fun with it. It’s just words and isn’t fancy but it was great to get my thoughts out. 😊


Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

IMG_2170.png

Six of Crows! It’s so gorgeous. I love when the edges of the paper are colored. Plus look at that cover! I love it.


What Book Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year

I can’t even decide! I have so many books I want to read before the year is over with.

bad-at-making-decisions-gif


I TAG:

Everyone! This tag has been float around for a while so I’m not sure who has done it and who hasn’t.

If you haven’t but really want to then consider yourself tagged. 😄


What are some of your favorite books that you’ve read this year?

-Melissa

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

19 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

    • Exactly! While reading it I felt like I was completely missing whatever made everyone else love it. Nothing against the author or her writing because the writing wasn’t bad (in fact that writing is what kept me reading) but I just generally didn’t like the story.

      Liked by 1 person

    • She really is!

      The thing I loved most about her was, as you pointed out, how she was more brains than brawn. It’s different from the usual kick ass female character in a lot of YA these days (as more are definitely making an appearance) that heavily rely on a physical sense of strength. (Not that there is anything wrong with that it’s just nice to have a variety in strengths.) I like how she represented the ability to be, as you said, intelligent, clever, meticulous, and lethal with just her mind. She showed that you don’t have to be “strong” to be strong. That’s why she’ll always be so memorable, for me. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

