REVIEW: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins

1SRREVIEW.png


WARNING: This is a review for the last book in a series. If you’ve not read the first or second book then be cautious because I can’t promise I won’t have spoiled anything. If you have read the first and second book than read worry free because I won’t have spoiled anything.
160078551

Title: Sweet Reckoning
Author: Wendy Higgins
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Format: eBook
Rating: 
5STARRATINGBNM
Synopsis(source):

It’s time.

Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom.


overallthoughts

This book was perfect. The ending was perfect. This series was perfect. Over the course of the past week, I’ve been immersed in the crazy emotional rollercoaster of a book world that is the Sweet Evil Trilogy. I actually devoured this whole trilogy in less than a week. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve gotten angry, and I’ve loved every second. 

“We, the Nephilim, were going to rid the earth of demons, and I was slated to lead the way.”

The whole world that Wendy Higgins created in these books is shocking and horrifying, yes, but it is also a world that is full of hope and second chances. It was incredible and full of so much depth. I enjoyed becoming immersed in this book world and watching how much it grew and seeing how the characters evolved with it. Several years back I was utterly obsessed with angel books and I can’t believe I never picked these up because it is probably the most well rounded and developed angel series I’ve ever read. It has set the bar for all other angel books I’ll read in the future. And Wendy Higgins writing is amazing! It never failed to pull me in, she has a way with words and characters that I’m still in awe over.


characters

“Kaidan looked up at me, showing all the emotion he’d so expertly hidden in the presences of the spirit. His expression made everything inside me come to life. 

“There you are,” I whispered stroking his cheek until I was awarded with a tired, small grin.”

Anna and Kai. From where they started in Sweet Evil to where they ended up at the end of Sweet Reckoning. Wow, what a journey. I remember saying while reading the first book how I thought Anna needed Kai to show her how strong she could be and Kai needed Anna to show him that he was not only worthy of love but that he could love in return. I still believe that’s true, but in a different sense than my original train of thought. They didn’t necessarily need each other rather they were better off with each other. They brought out the best sides of each other. 

Anna went from this naive little thing and grew into this strong woman that never wavered in her faith or nurturing nature.

Kai, while withholding some of that arrogance, evolved into this vulnerable not afraid to love and show it type of person who is equally as swoon-worthy as he was when he was first introduced.

I was incredibly happy with where they ended up and I shed tears, happy ones, because oh my god.

Patti, Jay, Marna, Ginger, Blake, Kope, Zania, and all the other Nephs that I came to love. I love Wendy Higgins for what she did with each and every one of these characters. They were really so much more than just secondary characters. The feeling of love and family and friendship surrounding all of them was beautiful. In a series, it’s become normal that I feel a slight injustice where secondary characters are concerned but in this series not once did I feel that way. I loved all of them and I’m going to miss them.


inconclusion

“Life was often so cruel, so ugly. And then, in the midst of all the madness, a precious gift would be placed in your lap.

Because life could also be so sweet.”

Warning; have tissues at hand, if you’re a crier like me, as you near the ending of this beautiful trilogy. For me, they were definitely bittersweet tears.

Sweet Reckoning is swoon-worthy, suspenseful, heartbreaking, and satisfying. It will have you spellbound until you reach the final page, and you will be left with a sense of hope and bittersweet happiness. 

In the past year there has only been one other series where I’ve been left feeling completely satisfied once I turned the final page. This trilogy makes it two. I feel like that has a lot to do with the fact that there is an epilogue and I always feel more resolution in a series ending book that has an epilogue. That could just be me though. Either way, if you’re looking for an incredible series that will take you on an emotional journey then these books are definitely for you. It’s worth giving a chance and I highly recommend it!


favoritequotes

“It was a day for beautiful, unfathomable, wondrous things.”

“I wished I could unsend it, or that there was a way to cancel a message if it had yet to be opened.”

“We have to have hope.”

“I had to believe there was a bigger reason for it all.”

“I have more clarity about the world in this body than I ever had with a set of balls.”


You can purchase this book on: AmazonB&NiBooksGoogle PlayBook DepositoryKobo, or you can check it out at your local library!


It took me a while to get this edited and ready to be posted because we’ve had family over and my niece has been glued to me demanding that I watch Lego movies and do Arts & Crafts with her. It’s been amazing because it’s been over a year since I saw my niece or nephew, but it’s killed my blogging game haha. 😂🙈

Also I won’t be doing a review for Sweet Temptation as it’s just the books in Kai’s POV. I did read it and loved it though. It was amazing!

-Melissa

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

Sweet Evil Review

Sweet Peril Review

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins

Leave a Reply

