May Wrap-Up & Book Haul

I’ve had another crazy month; especially work and school wise. It’s been a tad bit overwhelming and extremely stressful, but a positive is that I actually conquered most of my TBR. I also spent way too much on books. Oops. I need to curb that book buying habit of mine haha.

Anyway! Sorry for the tad lateness of this post. Horrible flooding in the part of Texas I live in caused major mail delays so the main part of my book haul didn’t arrive on time. Which is okay; I’d rather our lovely UPS driver not risk his life driving through that. Seriously mother nature needs to step back and give Texas a break. We’ve had way too much rain!


bookwrapup

IMG_2505

Book + Review #1 
IMG_1696

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski [REVIEW]
This book was the most emotional read I’ve read in a long time. Every time I turned the page it was either breaking my heart or putting it back together again. I remember describing it as a roller coaster of emotions; one that you will love every second of. The Winner’s Trilogy was the first series to completely captured my interest in a while. It made me remember how much I adore fantasy and Marie Rutkoski’s writing is enchanting so that’s always a giant plus. The second book was a tad frustrating at times but I loved it. It’s one of my favorite reads for May.

 

Book + Review #2
IMG_1803 (1)

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski [REVIEW]
This book was my top favorite read of May! The Winner’s Kiss is the perfect ending to an incredible series. I absolutely adored this book. It was a gripping read and I binged it in just a few days. It’s was probably the quickest I’ve read a book this whole year. It felt like saying goodbye to a good friend when I turned the last page. I’m really going to miss Sarsine, Kestrel, Arin, Roshar, and Verex. Honestly if you’ve not yet picked up The Winner’s Trilogy give it a chance. This series is officially one of those series I will unashamedly throw out as a recommendation when anyone is looking for a good fantasy series.

 

Book + Review (Recommendation) #3
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard [REVIEW/REC]
This book was actually a reread. I’ve been wanting to finally read Glass Sword but being that I read Red Queen over a year ago I needed a refresher. I’m so glad I reread Red Queen. This book is one of my favorites! (I know I say that a lot but really it just means I really love it.) It was nice getting sucked away into this book world for a while. I didn’t do a full review but more of a recommendation post. Although it did end up turning into a small review. It was fun to write and I’m glad I was able to encouraged some to give this lovely series a try!

bookhaul

IMG_2503

So this month I tried so hard to only buy books that I was going to immediately read for my TBR next month. I failed. One trip to the bookstore and I walked out with three books I probably won’t get to for a while and one that I had already read but didn’t own a physical copy of. What is self control and where can I purchase it? That aside I am quite happy with my book haul! I’m also officially in need of some new shelves. That is my top priority for next month.

  • The Last Star by Rick Yancey
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  • The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  • On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

On Dublin Street is the previously read buy. The Raven King I snatched up because everywhere else in my town is sold out and it was the last one; I still have to reread the first and second books for that series and read the third one. ACOTAR, ACOMAF, and TPWF are my immediate reads. As soon as I’m done with Glass Sword I am conquering ACOTAR because of all the good things I keep hearing about it and the sequel and the author.


monthlythoughts

I feel like I really accomplished a lot of the goals that I had hoped to accomplish with this little blog of mine in May. I didn’t really read more; the effects of an overwhelming and stressful month. But I did post more and I really tried to dive into the bloggerverse. I’m also way happier with how my blog looks now versus how it looked previously. It’s still a work in progress but it’s definitely getting there! I’m slowly learning new tricks and ideas haha.

Can I just take a moment to say how incredibly nice everyone I’ve talked to on here is? You’re all so wonderful! Anyone who has taken the time to comment on my posts or even just like them; thank you. To everyone who decided my blog was interesting enough to follow; thank you. To all of you that I talk to on twitter from time to time or even through anything else; I hope you know I consider you my friends now haha. Same goes for anyone I’ve talked to multiple times on here through comments. You’re stuck with me now :P! I kind of fail at interaction when it isn’t on my posts, I know. I try to comment, like, or even just look through everyone’s posts every few days. I swear there isn’t enough time in the day for everything. So many great posts, so little time haha. Who else agrees with that?

Guess what? I stuck to my TBR this month. It’s a miracle! I attribute that to great books and the amazing authors who wrote them.

I also had the surprise and joy of being contacted by two authors for promotion type posts for my blog. I was so overjoyed when it happened both times. The fact that any author considered my little blog for something like that makes me feel like I’m successfully running a book blog. I’ve never felt that way with any other platform book wise.

I had a few bumps in the road this month where I started to feel like I was completely failing at this. That’s a big part of what happened with my first book blog over a year ago. Feeling that way kind of took the fun out of it for me. I’m overly critical of myself. But honestly being contacted for those posts and then you guys comments really helped me knock some sense into myself and get back on track. So thank you! 🙂

Well, I’m starting to ramble so I’ll go ahead and end this here.

I hope all of you had a great month full of books and lots of reading! ❤

-Melissa

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

 

8 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up & Book Haul

  1. New follower here, hey! Those haul photos are really lovely 😍. I’ve only read Before Jamaica Lane, which is the third book in the On Dublin Street series, and I’m really interested to read the other books preferably the first two books aha 😜. I also spy The Raven King – which is one of my fave books/series of all-time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the follow and thank you ♥️♥️♥️♥️😄! That’s funny because I’ve only read On Dublin Street 🙈. I haven’t gotten around to reading the others yet, hopefully one day haha. On Dublin Street, the first book, is amazing by the way. It’s one of my favorites so I hope you enjoy it whenever you get the chance to read it 😊! I really loved the first two books in TRC series when I read them. Now it’s just a matter of finally reading Blue Lily, Lily Blue and then The Raven King. I think I’m going to binge the whole series next month lol.

      Like

  2. The Winner’s Kiss is honestly one of the most perfect series endings I’ve come across – I couldn’t have asked for a better finale 🙂 Haha I totally sympathise with you on restricting my book buying – I’m on a budget atm & I STILL couldn’t resist overfilling my shelves with new books xD Sounds like you had an awesome blogging month!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • They’re both really great series! (So far for Red Queen since I’m not finished with Glass Sword yet haha.) I hope you enjoy them both once you get to them 😊. Thank you! And so far it definitely has been♥️. I hope you have a good month too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

