Book Thoughts: Movie Adaptations And Book Worm Confessions

I feel like this is becoming a thing. I should so make a Book Thoughts Thursday logo for these posts haha.

Anyway! Today I was thinking about P.S. I Love You, the movie adaptation of Cecelia Ahern’s book. Shameful book worm confession; I haven’t actually read P.S. I Love You, I’ve only seen the movie. It’s not that I don’t want to read it, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I also didn’t even know it was a book until Love, Rosie was becoming a movie and I was caught up in The Mortal Instruments and The Hunger Games movie adaptation hype and had to see it because of Lily Collins and Sam Claflin. Yes, I’m that person. That aside you have no idea how much I love P.S. I Love You (the movie), I know it’s incredibly different from the book (I’ve read the synopsis and first chapter), but it’s my all time favorite movie. This got me thinking about movie adaptations of books in general.

Another confession; there are a lot of books I’ve watched the movie for but haven’t read.

I know I’m not the only one. Sometimes movies get released and we’re so consumed by our own TBR that we just don’t have the time to get around to actually reading the book before we see the movie or we don’t realize they’re books before we see the movie.


Version 2

  • P.S. I Love You
  • Love, Rosie
  • Gone Girl
  • Message in a Bottle
  • The Longest Ride
  • The Last Song
  • Nights in Rodanthe
  • My Sister’s Keeper
  • Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
  • Left Behind
  • The Da Vinci Code
  • Memoirs of a Geisha
  • Chronicles of Narnia
  • The Golden Compass
  • The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
  • Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood
  • The Shining
  • AND ETC….

I think I’ll stop there because there’s probably a lot more than just those. That goes to show you how many books are made into movies. Some adaptations we love, some we don’t. Some we’ve read the books for, some we haven’t.


I think most of the time I try really hard to separate the book from the movie while watching if I have read it (e.g. Harry Potter and The Mortal Instruments, I love the movie(s) and the books just as much as each other but separately.). Some times I fail though (e.g. Divergent, I don’t dislike the movies but am disappointed that they didn’t stick closer to the books.). Ah, the problems of a book worm haha.

Either way I think it’s pretty amazing seeing a book come to life on the big screen.

Side note: Sometimes I wonder if I would love P.S. I Love You as much as I do if I had read the book before I saw the movie. Hmmmm. (I will read the book. One day!)


What about you guys?

What books have you seen the movie for but haven’t read?

What movie adaptations of books do you love even if they are slightly or completely different from the books?

I hope you all had a lovely Thursday! 🙂

-Melissa

instagram||goodreads||twitter||facebook||bloglovin’

 

5 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: Movie Adaptations And Book Worm Confessions

  1. I’m not really a movie watcher in general, but I have watched a few movies without having read the book. The ones off the top of my head are: The Martian, Lord of the Rings, Catching Fire, Narnia and The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. I do want to get to most of the books eventually though.

    I’ve read Gone Girl and I hated it lmao. The movie was like a million times better imo. If I had the choice I definitely would have only watched that and never read the book, hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Is Gone Girl, the book, really different from the movie? Lol I’m still on the fence about the movie. I didn’t particularly like most of it which is why I never picked up the book like I had planned to. I just think it wasn’t my kind of story haha.

      Like

  2. Love, Rosie was beautiful (the book AND the movie!) Although the movie adaptation is kinda glamourised & glosses over some of the darker issues in the book, I still thought it was a lovely adaptation. I usually try to read before the movie comes out but like you, I don’t always get around to it on time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

