Top 5 Favorite Books/Recommendation

In no particular order:Β IMG_1326

~

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover:

Maybe Someday was the first book I read by Colleen Hoover. It was actually the first book I read that was considered NA. Before I picked up Maybe Someday I had never read a book with a deaf character before. It was completely unique, the story was incredible. I’ve never been able to find another book like it, trust me I’ve searched. Colleen Hoover’s writing is absolutely amazing as well which is the top reason I loved this book so much. A story can be amazing but when the writing is lacking it can ruin that aspect. This book and author introduced me to a genre I didn’t even know existed. Sure there are a lot of books in said genre that are pretty iffy but her books are certainly not in that group. I’ve also found a ton of other amazing authors and books because I picked up this one. That’s the reason it is and will always be one my favorites. I highly recommend it to anyone who has heard of Colleen Hoover, thought about picking up one of her books, or even to someone who hasn’t. Go for it. You won’t regret it.

the sky is everywhere by Jandy Nelson

I actually received this book as an ARC after signing up for my public libraries reading program one summer during high school. I was drawn in by the synopsis on the back of the book and then completely fell in love with the story once I read it. Jandy Nelson’s use of poetry, emotion, and the passions for music these characters had blew me away. This book is about a girl who’s sister has just recently died. Its full of grief, heartbreak, and love. I’ve honestly read this book so many times that I’ve lost count by now. I still only own the ARC, I so need to purchase the finished copy, and it’s full of highlights and little notes I’ve made over the years. Jandy Nelson is my number one auto buy author because of this! Honestly if you love books that tell a story where a character goes on a journey where she has to figure out how to live with the grief of losing someone and learn to be able to move forward this book is perfect. It also has some romance which I was REALLY into when I read this. This is the book I always recommend to people.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

My mom was the person who turned me onto Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series. All of my friends read City of Bones in middle school but I wasn’t quite sold on the idea. However, the second I started reading this book it became my favorite series. This book is my favorite because it’s the first book I read by her. It’s a book my sister, mom, and I have in common. Cassandra Clare’s writing and characters are so entirely unique. It gave me a new perspective on fantasy as a genre and it became my favorite book world. It’s my go to book when I need to escape into a different world for a while. The characters are amazing and it was an honor to be able to follow their journey and see them grow as characters. I’m so happy she’s kept writing because we get to see them keep growing and meet new characters. I’ll never tire of this book or this book world in general. If you’ve been on the fence about reading this series go for it! I highly recommend it to someone who is looking for an amazing complex new series to read.

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

I was on a contemporary kick when I picked up I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios and I’m glad I did. The characters in this book are so real and relatable. When I read this book it was during my time straight after high school. A time where I was trying to figure out what I wanted to do and what I was able to do. I live in a pretty small town, not as small as these characters but close. Most people where I live usually either stay here forever, get lucky and have the money to go off to a nice school, or join the military. Much like the characters in this book. The fact that I found something so relatable in this book is why I loved it so much. You get to see a group of people who have all gone through something try to strive to find their place in the world, to figure out who they are. It’s a story about growth. It’s also a story with a bit of romance that I really enjoyed. I recommend it to anyone who is on a contemporary quick and loves stories where the characters are on a self discovery like journey.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Another one of Jandy Nelson! I told you she’s my auto buy author and I snatched this book up the day it came out without even knowing what it was going to be about. It was an incredible story and I expected nothing less from this author. She has such a way with words that pulls you in and each of her characters is so unique. She also has a way of creating stories with characters who go on a journey after experiencing something life changing. This story was exactly that. The main characters experience the loss of one of their parents and the discoveries that leads to. Not only that but they both separately go on journeys of their own. A lot of it has to do with self acceptance and figuring out who you are. It was an incredible story to read and one I’ll never forget. I recommend it to everyone, especially those who love books like this. Also if you’ve read the sky is everywhere but haven’t picked this up yet. Do it! You won’t regret it.

~

Well there you have it. My top 5 favorite books and why they’re my favorites. I created this as an extension to an instagram post I did for a book challenge. I hope someone picks up one of these and loves it just as much as I did.

What are your top 5 favorites? Does anyone have any recommendations for me?

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Books/Recommendation

  1. Ahh I’ve only read one of these books – I’ll Give You The Sun, and I generally liked it, though I also feel like the writing was overly metaphorical and long-winded for my tastes. I really need to get on I’ll Meet You There, though, I’ve been hearing such good things about it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really loved I’ll Meet You There when I read it (and reread it a few times). It was an incredible book and slightly heart breaking. You should definitely give it a read when you get the chance! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

