Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

IMG_1063

Title: Library of Souls

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk Books

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 458

Rating: ★★★★☆ 4/5

Synopsis: (source)

“A boy with extraordinary powers. An army of deadly monsters. An epic battle for the future of peculiardom.

The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.”

Note: My reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated.


“Maybe the journey was only as rough as the destination,”

I feel like I’ve been on an incredible journey that I didn’t want to end. Library of Souls wrapped up everything in a nice package with a little bow and was every bit the great ending to a great series as I had hoped it would be. I adored this book. I think in part that has to do with Ransom Riggs’ amazing writing and story telling. It has this ability to pull you until you’ve forgotten you’re just reading a book. You’re in the story. You’re on the journey with the characters. You experience what they’re going through with them. For me, the writing is what made this book as well as the series so incredible.

There are many great characters in this series however Jacob and Emma are the main characters, especially in Library of Souls. I loved the character progression for both of them over the series (It also made me wish we had gotten to see more progression in the other characters but it’s understandable for it to be more noted in the main two.). I always believe that character progression can make or break a book. The characters have to grow with the journey. They definitely did.They grew and became complex characters that I admired.

I really enjoyed all the history and photography that Ransom Riggs had wrapped around this series. Can I just say however that I was so giddy over the allusions to greek mythology in this book. I’m obsessed with greek mythology. That’s probably one of the things I loved most about Library of Souls.

This book was also full of suspense. I love a book with suspense because it keeps me wanting to know what happens next.

You might be wondering, If I loved the book so much why didn’t I give it five stars? Well no matter how much I loved the book it wasn’t perfect. There were things left unanswered for me and a certain thing that happened that felt really cliche. Nothing a good epilogue couldn’t have fixed but alas not all authors do that.

If you’ve read the previous two books and are on the fence about reading the last. Go for it! You’ll like it. It builds more onto the world, you meet amazing new characters, and the suspense! It’s worth reading, I promise.

All in all if you find yourself looking for an amazing fantasy series to read that’s full of time travel, characters with powers, horrific villains, and incredible writing then I highly recommend this to you.

You can purchase this book and/or the rest of the series on: Amazon, B&N, Book Depository, iBooks, or you can check it out at your local library.

-Melissa

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

