Plot Twist Musings

I was thinking about plot twists and theories today. Plot twists and theories concerning the upcoming Shadowhunters season finale. I’m possibly, definitely, a huge fan of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunters books. Especially The Mortal Instruments as they were the first books I read of hers. Through all the faults and the fact that I’m such a huge fan of the books so I can be a tad judgmental of the TV show adaptation I do love it as well. I think I’m just addicted to anything that involves the world Cassandra Clare created. It’s a love my little sister and I share thus we’ve come up with our far share of theories as to how they’re going to end this season.

Is it going to be similar to the book or a complete plot twist? I’ve got to admit I’m excited to find out.

Now I have a love/hate relationship with plot twists book wise. They can be good or bad. They can make you scream in anger and want to throw the book across the room or they can make you giddy and want to lay there hugging the book out of happiness. I appreciate both, even if one makes want to me scream in anger, because it makes reading exciting and unpredictable (No matter how much we try to predict exactly what is going to happen.). It makes you want to keep reading to see what could possibly happen next.

It’s the same with TV shows.

For the most part the Shadowhunters TV show has stuck with the general plot and character personalities of the books. There have been twist and turns, some I’ve disliked and some I’ve loved, but I feel like it’s honestly made it more exciting. It’s given me the same feeling I had when I read the book for the first time. That counts as success to me.

Thus far we’ve had the general City of Bones plot with some changes and a few expedited things popping up from down the line (Vampire Simon, Clace finding out they’re “siblings”, Malec, the Book of White, Ragnor Fell, etc.). I think they made a great choice with what they’ve changed, mostly, and with what they’ve brought in early. It gives more room for growth in the series and perfect opportunities to surprise fans. Now I’m just wondering are we in for a giant plot twist for the season finale or something more like the ending of City of Bones?

I have a theory!

If you remember the ending of City of Bones was Clary, Luke, and Luke’s pack going to Blackwell’s Island because Valentine is there with Jace and the Mortal Cup. They find Clary’s mother, Jace and Clary find out they’re “brother and sister”, Jace almost goes after Valentine, Valentine has the cup hidden and escapes into the mirror portal,  and Valentine shatters the portal. That’s the general ending minus the epilogue.

Well in the show most of this has already happened in one way or the other, minus the whole cup thing. Except as we saw from the last episode they’re sticking with Hodge’s betrayl, more subtly, because he has the cup.

Since we all know from City of Glass, the Book of White is the key to waking Jocelyn up. She gets woken up and Clary finds out that she and Jace are in fact not siblings. However in the show the Book of White isn’t in Idris in the Wayland Manor anymore. It’s with Camille and they know where to find her. In the promo for the finale Clary has the Book of White in her hands, you hear about how Jace thinks he was raised to be evil, and how Valentine is all “Come with me!”. So I have a feeling they’re going to go all crazy plot twist on us.

You remember in City of Ashes how Jace goes off to find Valentine on the boat without telling anyone? He’s really conflicted in City of Ashes and City of Glass. He doesn’t know who he is anymore. They’ve brought that out a lot sooner in the show and it’s made it better.

Well I have a feeling in a way the ending will be like City of Bones in the fact that Valentine gets away with the cup. However, they’re going to want to leave us in suspense for the next season so I know they’ll probably plot twist it. What if, unlike the book, Jace goes with Valentine because of how conflicted and confused he is? I feel like that could happen. It would set up season two nicely.

I also have this whole other theory about Clary’s mom being woken after Jace goes with Valentine only for Clary to find out they’re not siblings after all. But that was just one of my wouldn’t it be hilarious if this happened theories with my little sister. I doubt they’re going to let that cat out of the bag so soon.

So what do you guys think? Plot twist or similar to the book ending?

Either way is it Tuesday yet!? Because I want Shadowhunters already.

On a side note:

I am currently still reading Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs. I should be finished with it sometime this weekend or early into next week and then have my first review up! I’m excited.

-Melissa

 

2 thoughts on “Plot Twist Musings

  1. I’m not really sure how the season will end… I haven’t read the books in their entirety- I begun reading City of Bones and lost interest- so what I do know of the series comes from the City of Bones movie.

    I think my dislike of the books comes from the fact that they’re quite impersonal… I would be more interested in reading the series from several FIRST PERSON perspectives.

    Jace’s mental state in the TV show right now makes me want to cry. I hope he finds out sooner rather than later that he and Clary aren’t related, and sorts out his views of himself (i.e realises he isn’t evil).

    Like

    • I can understand that. Not everyone likes the same books and all of that. 🙂

      Same. It’s definitely different seeing it acted out. I love the show for brining out that side of Jace more fully. I think that is going depends on when/if some other things about Jace are brought into the show sooner or later. I just can’t wait to see how they play it out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

